And Now We’re Back To Talking About Paint

Well THIS project certainly involved a lot of swearing.   And a lot of primer.

Remember the hallway before?  Good god.

DSC_0005

Also, thank you K dog, for hilariously saying you liked it the way it was.  Let me me assure you all that in person it was truly wretched.  The most common reaction people had to it was to pet it and ask “WHAT is that?”  Or to sneeze.

Anyhoo.

I scraped off as much paint as I could.  Then I sanded the crap out of it with a rotary sander and 80 grit sand paper.  Then I filled the holes and cracks with joint compound.  Then I washed it with a scrubby sponge, water, and 409.  Then I washed it some more.  And then some more.  And then I gave it two coast of Kilz primer, and painted it with two coasts of Valspar Signature Paint in Siamese Cat Flat Finish.

DSC_0066

DSC_0043

And I then I put seven trillion hollow wall anchors in the wall and hung all these pictures.  And yes, I framed my thermostat.

Also, please note that Mr. E hates that E with a fiery passion, but I love it so much I have TWO.

Also, please note I don’t have a light switch cover, because I can’t find the one I want anywhere and I am so not paying nine dollars shipping for one, crazy online store of doom!

Also, this was the worst thing ever to try to take a picture of.

Also, at first I wasn’t sure about the color, it’s a VERY light gray.  It’s the same color we painted our bedroom.  Now I LOVE it. It feels very elegant and light, but doesn’t come off as just dirty white.  I’m telling you, Martha won’t let you down.

And the walls are JUST SO SMOOTH.

Totally worth all the swearing and plaster dust.

LOVE IT.

Now I have to go pet it.

Again.

18 Responses

  1. It’s so pretty! I can’t wait to pet it myself!

  2. It looks really nice! I’m going to tell Lizzie and Maggie to pet it and report back to me :)

  3. I’m sad I am not going to be there to pet it in person.

    It looks beautimous!

  4. Fabulous. Where do you get these skills? Do you just google it? I am in awe.

  5. Yeah, I get to see that hallway in ONE WEEK. Seriously, you’re going to be sick of me in five minutes.

  6. It looks amazing and I love that you framed the thermostat. Also, totally jealous of the color because the gray I chose in my formal dining room/living area is not what I had hoped. Sigh.

  7. Oh my word, I love it. And tell Mr. E he is so so wrong about the gold E.

  8. Also, I can kind of not get over how awesome you are to do these massive undertakings. Just READING about it makes me exhausted.

  9. Oh Elizabeth. How am I EVER going to get up the courage to take on a Home Improvement Project when I have THIS as my standard? GAAAAAHHHHH!!!

    (I love it. If that wasn’t clear.)

  10. 1. I noticed the framed thermostat and I am totally copying that idea.

    2. I can’t remember the other thing I was going to say.

  11. Totally elegant! I predict there will be many framed thermostats by the end of the weekend. What a wonderful idea!

    $9 for SHIPPING? For a mere light switch plate? That is just wrong.

    Worth every bit of the work you put into it!

  12. I got tired just reading about all the work you did. Looks great! I would have quit halfway through and hired somebody to fix it for me :)

  13. I love it! I love the framed thermostat and the gold E. Mr. E needs to get over it. Because it looks fab. Am v. impressed by your home improvement skillz.

  14. Gorgeous!! Where do you learn these things? And I may borrow the framed thermostat too!

  15. Although I loved the easter egg, I love this too. You go for actually getting some of your pictures enlarged and then framing them AND THEN actually hanging them.

  16. It looks great! You are awesome at this painting gig!

  17. i love that you framed your thermostat!

    what kind of switchplate cover are you wanting?

  18. love it SO much!!!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 983 other followers

