What I Ate This Week: Whole 30 Week One

I have a lot of opinions about Whole 30, but I am trying to save them until the end, because I think right now is a complaining time for me and I am hoping that eventually I will get to an awesome time and I want to give a well rounded picture of my experience.

However, I am very happy that I made it back to to Farmer’s Market this morning.

DSC_0038-001

Golden beets! Most exciting thing that’s happened to me in months. (I live a wild, wild life.)

So hopefully next week you’ll get to see all the deliciousness that I turn this into, but here’s what I ate last week:

Taco Salad. This was black olives, tomatoes, ground beef, jicama, pineapple, avocado, lettuce, jalapenos, and salsa. I ate mine on a sweet potato, and Erik had his on chips. I actually liked this better than when I normally have it with cheese and sour cream, if you can believe that. It was amazing.

DSC_0049-001

DSC_0075-001

Then I had the leftovers just over lettuce as a salad, with salsa for dressing.

DSC_0001-001

This is basically what I’ve been having for breakfast, although I try to do berries or fruit sometimes instead of smoked salmon. I am cool with this breakfast unless I don’t feel great, in which case I feel really annoyed that I can’t have toast or oatmeal. I’m not a great morning person and my stomach is often dicey for the first two hours of the day, so you know, I can do the eggs but some days I am not happy about it.

DSC_0053-001

This is a typical lunch. I don’t know if you can tell but these are supposed to be wraps on lettuce leaves, you can sort of roll the wrap up sideways but it does get pretty messy there at the end. This is Trader Joe’s roast beef on lettuce leaves with roasted red peppers, home made mayo, spicy carrot slaw, olives and radishes. Oh my god, it’s so good. It’s really really good.

DSC_0092-001

I liked this dinner, but full disclosure, I was hungry afterwards.  This is steak, grapefruit and avocado salad (cup up both, combine, add some salt) and asparagus and carrot slaw. (I added the sunflower seeds.) The asparagus and carrot slaw was FANTASTIC. It tasted like springtime. I’d made it again during non Whole 30 in a heartbeat.

DSC_0001-001

This was not my finest moment, but Erik was out with friends and I had to feed both kids and I just didn’t have it in me to do the whole shebang. This is the one kind of Trader Joe’s chicken sausage that is compliant sliced up over zucchini noodles with the one kind of compliant Trader Joe’s spaghetti sauce over it. Oh, and roasted red peppers.

I’m not gonna lie, I really missed my sprinkle of green can cheese.

DSC_0023-001

I roasted a chicken! It went well.  For the record, I have roasted many a chicken, but they always sort of give me the icks, so I thought about what kind of chicken I like (rotisserie chicken, the chickens my mom makes) and the kind I don’t like (the ones I roast) and I pondered the difference, and I decided that I would do is that I would cook the shit out of the chicken.  And so I cooked this one for four hours at 350, and when I took it out it was basically falling apart, and I loved it. It did not give me the icks.  And now I have ready protein for days.  This meal was because my husband gave me some nasty virus OR Whole 30 hates me, but regardless, I’d been having, um, some poopage issues for quite some time and I just didn’t have it in me to eat anymore broccoli, so I went with bland and comforting.  And it was DELICIOUS. I do love a good frozen cut green bean.

DSC_0028-001

6 Responses

  1. I love this post! I need ideas like WHOA. Do you mind sharing which kind of TJ’s sausage and sauce are compliant, as I am lazy? Thanks, and good luck!

  2. Super helpful and I pinned that carrot and asparagus salad! (Whole30 is about the only thing I’m using Pinterest for. It makes me feel fancy.) I wish I’d been better prepared and had logged all my meals too. Ah well. I’ve been pinning and instagramming and blogging some hits though, so that shall suffice. I am so interested in hearing more about your experience. I don’t think it’s whiny – it’s been a huge help to me to write about it AND to hear what others are going through- I love getting your comments. Feel free to vent to me if you don’t want to do it here!!

  3. Your initial whole30 post inspired me to do it too, and now I am really interested in the spicy carrot slaw recipe, please? I loved this post, and am stealing lots of ideas (taco salad – genius! why didn’t I think of that?). I also get a lot of book ideas from your book review posts, so I guess I think you’re pretty awesome.

  4. I feel thinner just reading this.

  5. [...] myself to little cherry tomatoes just for snacking.” And I said “I know! After seeing my friend Elizabeth’s salad on twitter, it reminded me I need to pick up some radishes. I can’t wait to just have [...]

  6. I am so impressed that people are having the motivation to spend so much time preparing food like this, and so consistently. January is always such a hard time for me to FEEL resolved to do healthy things. I just want to sink further into the ass-dent on my couch and eat crap. I don’t know what’s wrong with me… my willpower is so low right now. I really hope once the baby starts sleeping through the night I miraculously find it returned to me (in exchange for the extra ten pounds of baby weight that hasn’t budged.)

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 986 other followers

