What I Ate This Week: Apparently I’m Having Some Kind of Weird Seafood Craving

JPEG Image (388)-002

Stuffed Cabbage, Mashed Potatoes (the kind that come frozen in a bag from Trader Joe’s), and salad.

So every once in awhile I get the weirdest craving for a food that I would never normally eat. Does that happen to you? Anyway, once every three years, I HAVE to eat stuffed cabbage. It’s very odd, but I just go with it.

(I used tomato sauce instead of tomato soup in this recipe because I’m not a fan of cooking with canned soup. I know it makes no sense to use mashed potatoes from a bag and turn up my nose at canned soup, but a woman’s heart is a deep ocean of secrets, ok? Just go with it.)

JPEG Image (3300) - Copy-002

Steak, Spinach Salad with Maple Vinaigrette, and Sourdough

I didn’t really like this steak. It was the first time that Costco steak has let me down.  The good news is that the salad was the straight up bomb and I didn’t even need to eat the steak. Erik’s dressing was the business.

DSC_0001-001

Steak (a good one this time), Twice Baked Potatoes, Salad.

I have been making twice baked potatoes for years and I have never found a recipe I LOVED until this one. These are the fatteningest, but damn are they good.

DSC_0008-001

Strawberry season! And Trader Joe’s Cinnamon Swirl bread and eggs.

DSC_0078-001

Sesame Tuna Salad. I liked the salad but I found the tuna grisly. It was sort of icky, honestly, so I might have to stick with Costco tuna.

DSC_0004-001

Fettucine with Clam Sauce.  This is such an easy dinner when you don’t really know what to make –  I try to always have clams on hand because you can always make this or Clam Chowder pretty much with stuff you usually have lying around the house, although no one loves this dinner as much as I do, I just don’t think you can really go wrong with butter+garlic+clams+lemon. YUM.

DSC_0077-001

Shrimp Caesar Salad.  This is so easy. Just chop up some lettuce, thaw some precooked shrimp, throw on some croutons (I like the Trader Joe’s ones), toss with some caesar dressing, and throw some grated parm on top.  This also makes an excellent fancy lunch for company, I have found.  Plus I grew this lettuce myself, which means my Smug Points are extra high for this dinner.

We also had these Salad Tacos, from the Pioneer Woman, and they were SO FRICKING GOOD. Seriously, I am never going back to ordinary tacos. Thumbs up from everyone, including Eli who told me how much he loved them, and Erik, who could not stop eating them. Seriously, I want to eat them again RIGHT NOW.

 

 

3 Responses

  1. After reading that recipe, *I* now want some salad tacos RIGHT NOW. (I’d settle for Shrimp Caesar Salad, but there’s none of that around here, EITHER.)

  2. I know this post is about the food, but I am distracted by how much I like your dishes!

  3. Those tacos sound so good! We made oven tacos http://pinterest.com/pin/72268768992413420/ similar to these and everyone in the house loved them. I think the hard shells are key to getting my girl to eat a full taco!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 991 other followers

