What I Wore This Week

DSC_0023-001

{Gap Outlet Tee, Kork Ease Wedges, Mossimo Shorts}

There was a mix up involving these shorts, they’re too big so I bought the smaller size down but then I put the too big pair back in the drawer and wore them instead of the new smaller pair and that’s my why my shirt looks too short. Whatever. This was fine, there are other things I like better with these shorts and this shirt. I desperately need a new white skirt, I had to retire all three of mine.

IDSC_0078-001

{Thrifted shirt, J. Crew Factory Bermudas, Havaianas}

This shirt was in the “Should it stay or should it go?” pile. I wore it all morning before realizing that the decoration on the chest perfectly aligns with my nipples, and then I discarded it in horror. It has gone. I think it made me look kind of boxy anyway.

DSC_0110-001

{Target tank, J. Crew Factory Bermuda shorts, Havaianas}

I probably didn’t need another navy tank, but this was $10 at Target and reminded me of something that they’d try to charge $60 for at Anthropologie.  Plus it was really flattering and comfy and covered my bra straps. Win. But really, don’t let me buy any more navy tanks.

DSC_0216-001

{Kohls jacket, Target dress, Kate Spade necklace, J. Crew wedges}

I bought this jacket for something like $14 after seeing Jenny wear it on Style All Over because it seemed like the perfect thing to throw over boring black dresses.  I really really like it. It’s very light and comfy, the color is lovely, and it really does fix a boring black dress right up.  Plus, $14, so you know, win.

DSC_0321-001

{Gap Flutter Sleeve Dress, Target necklace, Toms Wedges} 

I just love this dress. It’s comfy, it’s light and summery, but it doesn’t look like a swimsuit cover up, and it’s a little different.  The sleeves are perfect and I don’t feel like it’s all “look at this flattering draping for the older woman in your life” or whatever.

Everyone always asks  me if these wedges are comfortable. No, they are not comfortable. They don’t fit on my feet right and they fall off  my ankles and they are hard to walk in and they squeeze my toes. Maybe it’s just me.

DSC_0372-001 DSC_0384-001

{J. Crew skirt c/o Kate, Gap tanks, Target cardigan, J. Crew wedges}

This skirt is PERFECTION. I got more compliments on this skirt than I have on almost anything I wore all year.  This has cemented my “A line skirts good, poofy skirts with tons of fabric not so good” skirt philosophy.  It was so flattering and cute and I LOOOOOVE it. You should all dream of a hand me downer as awesome as Kate.

DSC_0473-001

{Lands’ End Fit and Flare Dress (last year’s color), Target necklace, Franco Sarto wedges}

You know how in some areas of Target, it seems like they’ve really figured it out? Like a few years ago they were sort of behind the times but now they have washi tape! and striped straws! and little girls dresses with zebras on them!

Well, at least at my Target, I feel like they need help in the jewelry department.  They get in an order of a tiny amount of stuff, it’s snatched up in three days, and then it’s not restocked for MONTHS. It’s really weird. Get with the program, Target.

Anyway, I have been looking for a long green necklace for months so when I saw that they had FINALLY restocked the jewelry at Target and this necklace was there I grabbed it.  It’s really cute as long as you don’t wear the clasp directly at the back of your neck, imho.  I want to wear it with a navy cardigan and some madras bermuda shorts, but I can’t find madras bermuda shorts ANYWHERE. But I love that it gives me another way to wear this dress (in the past I’ve always worn it with a red necklace and red shoes.)

So. Looking for: aline white skirt, madras bermuda shorts, hot pink flowy high waisted maxi skirt. Also a crew necked t shirt with VERY wide white and pink stripes or white and navy stripes. Anyone?

14 Responses

  1. I have no help to give you because I pretty much order whatever you say you like. (Please see: J.Crew bermuda shorts, Gap flowered dress I am wearing today, the Kohls blazer I will order before the day is done, etc.) But I thought I’d drop a line to say that I have basically taken all my recent wardrobe choices from you and it has been a winning combination! So thank you. :)

  2. LL Bean has madras shorts with an 11″ inseam! http://www.llbean.com/llb/shop/72791?feat=503254-GN2&page=kennebunkport-bermuda-shorts-madras&attrValue_0=Cornflower%20Blue&productId=1214692 (I really enjoy your blog & especially your outfits!)

  3. What do you think of the sizing on the fit & flares? I have an XL, which looks good only with a belt. Thinking about ordering an L.

  4. I love the navy Gap dress. It looks perfect with that necklace!

  5. ha ha ha ha ha the shirt and your nipples is killing me!

  6. I do love that black and white skirt!

    Last year I was in a mad search for madras Bermuda shorts, too, but all I could ever find was short-shorts. I eventually wound up buying a pair from the men’s side of Old Navy and I wound up loving them! Not sure if they have them this year, but here’s what I got last year: http://www.flickr.com/photos/zembla/8720514935/

  7. My Toms wedges are terrible too. Which is sad, because I want to get the new strappy ones, but I’m afraid they also will suck.

  8. Have you looked at the everyday a-line at Boden? I don’t own it, but am always pleased with my Boden purchases. I love the stripy Breton tee, but the stripes aren’t wide. So soft and washes well though. There are always coupons floating around the net. Vineyard Vines has madras shorts, but they’re stupid expensive. I got a wide-striped navy and white tee there last summer but doesn’t look like that’s a style this year.

  9. Thank you for wearing the boxy shirt because I laughed and laughed and laughed at your horrific description. Also, I looooove that last blue dress. LOVE.

  10. I’m glad I read this because you are looking pretty sexypants these days, Miss E.

  11. I don’t love Target jewelry. Have you discovered Stella & Dot yet? Their stuff isn’t the cheapest, but it’s great quality and super wearable.

  12. I love that J Crew skirt – so cute!!

    This isn’t EXACTLY what you are looking for in terms of the crew neck, but I think it is SO CUTE and it fits two out of three of your requirements (wide stripes, white and blue) so I am linking to it anyway: http://bananarepublic.gap.com/browse/product.do?cid=70160&vid=1&pid=411777002

  13. Wow. That Gap dress is fantastic! Even though the reviews are all low – what’s up with that, Gap reviewers?

  14. I LOVE that Gap dress on you! And possibly on me! But it’s out of stock in the pattern and I have sworn not to buy any more solid color dresses as I always wind up with some greasy fingerprints on it courtesy of my four year old and then I’m bummed.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 928 other followers

