Books I Read This Month: January 2014

Here we go.

1. Maisie Dobbs #1

maisie dobbs

This book was so incredibly boring, and yet so many people rave about it! I had to ask on Instagram if it was just me, and nope, it’s not just me.  No more from you, Maisie S. Dobbs.  (The S is for Super Boring.)

2. Rose of No Man’s Land

rose of no man's land

I wanted to like this but the descriptions of the main characters epically disgusting personal hygiene was something I could not get past.  Ugh.  Still grossed out a month later.

3. Timebound (The Chronos Files)

timebound

This was very entertaining, although I had to ignore the confusing time traveling parts because they either didn’t actually make sense or I’m not that smart.

4. These Broken Stars

these broken stars

I loved this.  I can see all the problems that people had with it, and it is sort Titanic in Space, and also it didn’t really make sense at all, but whatevs, I still loved it. Favorite book of the month.  Girls kissing boys and wearing fancy shoes! My favorite.

5. Being Henry David

being henry david

This read like a school project where you were supposed to write a paper about Thoreau but you didn’t want to write a paper so you tried to write a clever story. It’d be fine as that, but as a novel, oh my god, stfu about Thoreau already.

6. Mermaid in Chelsea Creek

mermaid in chelsea creek

Oh yeah no. I tried, I really tried, but no.

7. On Such a Full Sea

on such a full sea

There was something very odd and off putting about this book. I think because it’s written in first person plural (we).  We find that really distancing from the story, somehow. We are not a fan.

8. The Impossible Knife of Memory

impossible knife

This is another one of those teen issue books, and I guess they can be ok, but I always get the feeling halfway through that I know exactly how everything is going to play out, and it’s always exactly how everything plays out and I’m over it, dudes.  I want a story, not a thinly veiled lesson on PTSD and its ramifications on everyone.  Yawn.

9. Reality Boy

reality boy

I loved “Please Excuse Vera Dietz” so much that I always find it surprising when I don’t like A.S. King’s other books, but this wasn’t for me.  It was super weird and I couldn’t get into it.

10.  Fiend

fiend

Speaking of super weird. It was definitely entertaining and different, I’ll say that for it. If you don’t want to read something that’s super gory and super violent and all about meth addicts and sex with loooooooots of swearing, this is not the book for you.  If you do, buy it right now! It’s got all those bases covered.

11.  &Sons

This novel was told from the point of view of a person so annoyingly unpleasant that it completely ruined the book for me. No, I don’t want to read a 500 plus book told by a pathetic losery wet blanket, thanks.

12.  The Ocean At the End of the Lane

ocean at the end of the lane

Oh man, I haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaated this book. I hated it so much I don’t know if I can put it into words.  LOATHED.  I don’t usually give one star reviews on Good Reads and I am aware that every other person in the world loved it, but I wanted to light it on fire. God, what an irritating book.

13. The Examined Life: How We Lose and Find Ourselves

the examined life

A psychoanalyst of 30 years relaying some of his cases. I thought it was interesting but I’m still not sure what the point of it was, exactly.

 

3 Responses

  1. Oh man, first person plural drives me crazy. I read an autobiography this month that kept lapsing into second person and it made me want to slap the author. Talk like a normal person! I wasn’t there! Stop saying “you walked down the hall” etc, because…I didn’t.

  2. I always love your book review because I know what NOT to read! But have you ever thought about reading a different genre? It seems like you read a lot of YA and it seems like you hate a lot of YA! I’m not trying to sound like an asshole, I just love love love to read and it makes me sad when other people, who obviously love to read as well, aren’t loving the books they are reading.

  3. I couldn’t get through Maise Dobbs AT ALL – two other female detective series I liked a lot better were the Enola Holmes (she’s Sherlock’s younger sister) ones by Nancy Springer and the Her Royal Spyness series by Rhys Bowen.
    These Broken Stars sounds right up my alley – off to check that out.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 983 other followers

