What I Read This Month: February 2014

14. Lost and Found

lost&found

I have to make a teeny little embarrassing confession which does not cast me in the best of light, which is that I put off reading this book because as we all know, I hate everything, and I was worried I wouldn’t like it even though I really like Shalini and then we would have awkward times. You can see I have a lot of faith in my friends.  P.S. It’s just great knowing me.

The good news for all of us is that I really really liked this book.  Is it perfect? No, but I enjoyed it more than most things I have read for quite some time, and I thought it was fun and I loved Oliver and I loved Delaney and I loved her friends.  Highly entertaining.  Am a fan.

15. Knight School

knight school

Oh, god, this was just stupid, but at the same time? I can’t lie, it was entertaining. It was probably 50-100 pages too long and it ended in a very annoying cliffhanger, but it was perfectly serviceable vacation reading.  Although I did tell Erik “This book is so stupid” about a hundred times while I was reading it. And every time I told someone the title or the plot premise, we all laughed our asses off.  Also, if you want to read a book about school wars and you haven’t read either Jellicoe Road or The Chocolate Wars, don’t be wasting your time on Knight School.

16. Midwinter Blood

midwinterblood

Oh god,  this won the Printz Award. All hope is lost.

17. Thank You For Your Service

thank you for your service

This was amazing.  Amazing. With the caveat that if reading really depressing things about people with anxiety and major life stresses makes you anxious, maybe don’t read this one.  But seriously, I generally don’t with the non fiction and I loved this. I agree with every rave review I’ve read of this so far.

18. Maggot Moon

maggot moon

I kind of liked this book? I think I did. It was very odd, but I liked it. Although it reminded me of that tiger book, um, Life of Pi? Where I thought I was supposed to be getting something very obvious that certainly everyone else gets but that I so did not get.

19. The Obvious Game

the obvious game

Meh. Speaking of obvious, this was obviously…not that great.

Why I have I shoddily read only 19 books so far this year? I blame my wretched children and the internet.

2 Responses

  1. Obviously I need to read Lost and Found immediately. And I blame my children too :)

  2. I am 1) relieved and 2) grateful. I’m so glad you liked it! I think my next book will be sharper and wittier, so even if you *didn’t* like it, I was going to tell you that my next book will be better (I hope), but yaaaay.

    And 3) I don’t think I’ve ever liked a Printz winner since American Born Chinese (I tried to read Jellicoe Road three times and gave up at…page two all three times. I don’t know why! I will try again!)

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 987 other followers

