What I Had For Lunch

I just made this and it was delicious so I thought I’d share.  If you don’t care what I had for lunch, fake it.

Chicken Salad

some cooked chicken breast, chopped.  (Generally I don’t care for “reused chicken” but I make an exception for cooked chicken breast that is used cold in something else.  My mom used to make this thing that was leftover chunks of chicken cooked again in some sort of cornbread situation and the thought of it makes me gag to this day. Ughhh.)

some pineapple, chopped up (I love pineapple in everything, can’t have too much pineapple.  We buy it fresh a lot because our cat really really really loves chewing on the leaves, so I had some chopped up and ready to go.)

some almonds, chopped up. Just enough for crunch.

One tomato, chopped

Three or four handfuls of freshspinach, cut in ribbons. Spinach is the dieter’s best friend…it adds bulk, vitamins, and it’s delicious.  I’ll throw spinach in (or under) pretty much anything.

Dump it all together, mix, add salt, pepper, mayo to taste. Go easy on the mayo, I added a tad too much.

Eat with a pita.  (I was going to stuff this in one but that never works out for me, the pita always falls apart. So I just use it as a scoop).

You don’t have to serve this in a jadeite bowl but it doesn’t hurt.

dsc_0004.jpg

4 Responses

  1. Oooh! Sounds and LOOKS yummy!

  2. Very nice looking meal, I love chicken too.

  3. That actually looks good.

    And I am a big chicken/tuna/ham salad hater. Blech.

  4. Mmmm. Don’t tell me you actually made this with one hand while holding Fussy Baby! If you did, I’m seriously impressed.

Comments are closed.

