Thud

Weekends are diet kryptonite. I really need to figure out a way around that. The only way out is through, I guess.

Mr. E is back to working two nights a week and those nights are so difficult, food wise. I just want to eat peanut butter and jelly and frosted mini wheats and cookies and curl up in a pile of carbs and die. I need some good, healthy, fast, easy, cheap things to eat on those nights. We’re going to make a Trader Joe’s run this weekend and I am hoping they have some good stuff that fits the bill.

I did find a race to run, 10 miles on March 1st. That’s where the pedometer and the shuffle come in…I need to get my ass out there and get to running. If I can find a good route and get out there every day, I think it will help the weight loss a great deal.

I ordered my foundation and my silly glass with the letter E on it.

I started to think about going to Blogher ’08 since Jennie said she’s in. And I only live three hours away. But it costs $248 dollars and last year it sounded like kind of a cliquey nightmare so I’m not sure if I’m going to attend the actual conference. I 100% plan on hanging out with anyone and everyone who wants to get together but I don’t want to spend two pairs of J Crew ballet flats only to recreate 7th grade.

Here’s the real point of this post. Eli woke up last night as he almost always does lately and Mr. E went and got him and brought him into our bed to nurse and then a few minutes later we were awoken by a loud thud because I had fallen asleep nursing the baby and he rolled off the bed onto the hardwood floor. Worst moment of my entire life so far. I will never ever forget the sound that made and the seconds after I realized what had happened. I just kept screaming “I fell asleep, I’m so sorry, I fell asleep.”

If that doesn’t make you want to eat your feelings, I don’t know what will, but today I am going to eat oatmeal and tuna and an apple and then I am going to run four miles.

Goal of the Day: Run four miles.

PS Senor Pants is fine. Fine fine fine. I may never recover, but he is fine.

7 Responses

  1. It’s only $248 for the whole package. You can do less for less. Just the cocktail parties even. (Let me re-emphasize: COCKTAILS.)

    I know that was probably incredibly scary and horrible. He’ll never remember it though. Hopefully the memory will fade for you eventually, too.

  2. Oh! I am so sorry! I am certain Senor Pants is fine, and he won’t remember a thing. Oh, but my heart hurts for your feelings…

  3. I have to fess up that I want to go to BlogHer this year too but had the same fears about it. I think I have low blog self esteem. And let go of the guilt about the falling on the floor thing. Stuff happens. And he’s fine. So it’s all good.

  4. Laughing I am… I breastfed 6 babies and NEVER had one fall off the bed… you are a dork! Too funny.

  5. I think my heart would have lept through my throat and out of my body.

    However, it’s kind of like first birthdays. Something he’ll never remember, but something you can laugh over when he’s 30. 🙂

    Wanna know my quick, however lame, dinner solution for when I’m too zonked to cook, but up for snacking? Throw a couple of frozen chicken breasts or cutlets into a square baker, add some water to cover the bottom of the pan, top chicken with whatever spices you wish (I usually use chili powder and adobo dry spices), roast in 350 degree oven for however long until they are done through (usually about 30 to 45 minutes depending on size of chicken). Toss some birds eye single veggie steamers in the microwave, and voila. Chicken and veggies. Easy and way low cal. It’s not gourmet, but I wind up full nonetheless.

  6. Can I just tell you how many times my kids fell off the bed onto a hardwood floor?? Many many times. My 2 year old is now sleeping in a big girl bed and has fallen out of bed at least 5 times already. I think I’m going to have to buy a guardrail for her. I feel your pain – that THUD is the worst sound in the world!! I’m sure he’s fine and you will be too!!

  7. Oh no! I am sure Senor Pants won’t be scarred for life…and I believe you’ve just officially been indoctrinated into motherhood. I haven’t been there yet, but I’ve read plenty of the stories. If you want to make yourself feel a little better, head on over to finslippy.com and read her post titled Give Me Your Worst Parenting Stories…and the one following it. Full of parenting mishaps! He’s ok, and that’s all that matters, so just laugh in relief!:) ((( hugs)))

Comments are closed.

