Happy Birthday Baby Boy

Whew. One year old. I can hardly believe it.

You know, this sounds ridiculous, but I just had no idea I’d be bringing this whole other little person into the world. I don’t know what I thought, but I didn’t think I’d be buying my son Jack Johnson’s new album for his first birthday present. I kind of can’t believe I have a child who won’t open his mouth to eat unless he’s holding the oatmeal box while you ask him over and over “Where’s the baby?”. I have no idea where it came from, but I love that when you ask “Where’s your nose?” he sticks both fingers UP his nose. I never imagined he’d shove the dog aside to get to the cat. We all hate the cat, except for Eli. He hates applesauce and peaches and pears but loves mashed up squash above all things. He likes to chew on post it notes. He laughs when he farts. (I know where he got that, and it wasn’t from me. Ahem.).

Eli thinks anything you do while sitting or lying down or holding still is for sucks. He wants to find out how things work and why, right NOW. He studies things. He loves to stand at the front door and yell at people who walk by. Everyone says “He’s so mellow!”, but they’ve never tried to put him to bed when he just wants to hang out. It’s pretty much like I’ve given birth to a college freshman. Loves Jack Johnson, picking his nose, hanging out, and staring at leaves. Won’t go to bed, sleeps in till ten am. Bangs his into the wall because he likes how it sounds.

It’s simply phenomenal to watch this tiny baby become a real live honest to goodness person in front of my eyes. I am left with the feeling, overwhelming, every day, of fortune. I am humbled and grateful and awestruck. It runs through my mind, this quick strand of words, through all the days, now,:

Of all the mothers in all the world. Eli. Thank you for picking me.

The thing, is, really, for me, this is it. I would like to have other children. And I know I’ll love them just as much as I love Eli. And I adore my husband. And I am fond of many other people in this big crazy world. But really, my son, he’s just…He’s it for me. He’s the one, my truly madly deepest. Our worst days are still my best days, because he’s here.

And for me, really? There just ain’t no other man.

11 Responses

  1. I read your post over at She Likes Purple. What a beautiful and fun photo montage. So sweet.

  2. I just read your post over at She Likes Purple and I’ve enjoyed checking out your blog.

    can’t wait to see more!

  3. What a beautiful tribute!

    I hear you on all of the feelings. Sometimes I sit back, look at my kids, and all I can say is…wow.

  4. Came over here by way of Jennie… Happy birthday to your sweet baby boy! He is beautiful.

  5. Happy B-day!

    Beautiful post!

  6. Happy Birthday Eli!
    it is just so amazing how they are their own person right from the start.

  7. That’s one lucky little dude.

  8. And this is the stuff that makes all the rest of it seem not so bad.
    Thank you so much for reminding me because this is what I need to be focusing on when things get crazy.

    Happy Birthday Eli!

  9. Happy Birthday Eli!

    You have such a cool mama.

  10. STOP it! You’re making me want to have babies!!

    Happy (belated) birthday, Eli.

  11. I never realized it before I read your post, but I feel the same way about my son. I feel a little disloyal to my husband, but it’s true. My baby is the one for me too!

Comments are closed.

