MY Easter Basket

Ok, I realize that announcing this is about to indicate just how closely I am walking the line between huge nerd and over the top yuppie.

But I am getting my very first farm box delivery on Wednesday!

Seriously, I am more excited about this than I have been about anything in like, ages.

I’ve been obsessively googling farm boxes since I first moved away from home and I have always always always wanted one and I’ve never lived anywhere that had them. And then on Friday I was trying to figure out when the farmer’s market was going to open here because I am well done with eating Lean Cuisine Swedish Meatballs for like, ever, and it’s 80 degrees out and my body is craving the green. I find myself on walks, staring at the ground, thinking “hmmm. I wonder if THAT’S edible?”

And lo and behold we have a local organic farm and they deliver farm boxes! It’s almost too good to be true, too.  It’s locally grown, AND 100% certified organic, AND because it’s locally grown it means you are eating seasonally, which is something I would love to do more. I don’t have to pick it up, they deliver it for free, every week or every other week. They email you a list of extras you can add and they’ll put you on their “egg list”. Fresh eggs without having to haul ass to the farmer’s market at 8 am on Saturday morning? Yes please.

I am also ridiculously excited for them to chuck weird stuff in my farm box and to get to experiment with cooking stuff I’ve never cooked before. For example I’ve never had dandelion greens and I cannot wait to try them.

This is what we’ll get this week: Lettuce – 1, Dandelion Greens, Snow Peas, Daikon – 1, Crimini Mushrooms, Potatoes – 1.5 lb., Red Onion – 1, Chives, Ginger – 2″, Mixed Apples – 4, Blood Orange – 2, Tangerines – 4, Lemon – 1, Bananas – 1 lb., Grapefruit -1, Avocado – 3, Green Chard 1

All organic, for $35 dollars. IF I could find all of this organically in my grocery stores, which I can’t, it would cost me a bloody fortune. If I have all this delivered every week, I predict I will save oodles of money on groceries.

God, I love California.

Now, does anyone know what I do with a daikon radish?

4 Responses

  1. I’m so jealous! Our farmers market/CSA season doesn’t start for a little bit. As for daikon, they taste like a mild radish, so you could just add them thinly sliced to salads. I julienne them, color them pink with beet juice, and make veggie sushi rolls out of them. They are great added to cole slaw, and make wonderful marinated/pickled salads. Sometimes I just slice them and dip them, along with celery and carrots, into green goddess dressing. I ❤ Daikon.

  2. slice very thinly and stir fry.

  3. Also very jealous. That’s an awesome price.

    Daikon? Make sushi, of course!

  4. Oh, I’m jealous, but only because you’re already getting fresh veggies! I bought a farm share this season from a certified organic farm in Chelsea but I won’t start getting my weekly box o’ veggies until the end of May. I’m very excited but I have to wait two more months. 😦

    Enjoy your vegetables!

Comments are closed.

