21 Quick and Healthy Meals

Every spring I find myself growing tired of the same old grind.  Meat grosses me out, I crave fruit, and I long for simple meals that are mostly raw veggies.

The larder is bare and I need to go grocery shopping, but I am so sick of cooking and cleaning and washing dishes and scraping food off the floor that I really just feel like throwing twenty one frozen pizzas in the cart and calling it a day. Here’s my attempt to remind myself not to do that.

1.  fresh tomato soup with a few curly noodles

2.  yogurt, cucumbers, hummus, and a pita

3.  Pita pizza with a little bit of cheese and turkey pepperoni

4.  carrot shreds and grilled chicken on a big salad with fruit and celery thrown in

5. egg whites, ham, and an english muffin

6.  yogurt, a sliced banana, and ground flax seeds

7. gardenburgers wrapped in iceberg lettuce, strawberries, yam fries

8.  thai steak salad

9. canteloupe or mango, bocconcini, and tomatoes. Maybe add some pasta. Or spring mix.

10.  tomato and grilled bread salad

11.  grilled shrimp and mango

12.  grilled peaches, corn on the cob, and chicken breast

13.  black beans, tomatoes, and mango  with mint and jalapeno, served over spring mix

14.  refried bean tostadas

15.  asparagus, ham, and sweet potatoes

16.  reubens with home made cole slaw and radishes on the side. Maybe on a baguette.

17.  tuna salad with apples served over lettuce

18. avocado on toast with salt

19.  thinly sliced flank steak, asparagus, potatoes, zucchini, and summer squash

20. tomato sandwich on sourdough

21. caprese salad, grilled corn, and bread  (I might be jumping the gun on this one a little bit, but hey, we live in California, right? A girl can dream.)

Anyone else got any go to simple, healthy, light meals I can try out? I would really appreciate any suggestions you might have.  I’m afraid if I had to think of  Meal Number #22  it would be Bowl of Frosted Mini Wheats.

3 Responses

  1. Yogurt with walnuts and grated or chopped apple.

    Canned chick peas, cooked spinach, garlic, cumin.

    Sauteed vegetables with scrambled eggs (or egg whites).

    Greens with tomato and cucumber and canned salmon and vinaigrette.

  2. In a pinch I like quesadillas. Tortillas + whatever I can find — I always have on hand some cheese, black beans, jalapenos, chopped roasted red pepper. Leftover cooked chicken if I have it. Make a little tortilla sandwich and then cook ( I use a george foreman grill for 5 minutes, but microwave or stovetop works too.)

    Also pizza, with any one of a zillion toppings. I’ve started making the dough in the bread machine, which is really really easy.

  3. Cooled quinoa (very low GI) with sliced baby spinach, frozen peas, sliced mint leaves, sliced green onions, pine nuts or slivered almonds, a bit of olive oil (I use a lime olive oil at the moment) and a bit of red wine vinegar.

    Cooled couscous with diced tomato, diced red (spanish) onion, nuts as above, coriander (think it’s called cilantro there), currants, oil and vinegar as above.

    Smoked salmon, mango and couscous pita wraps (email me if you want the recipe. It’s very easy).

    Cheat gazpacho: tomato or v8 juice, tin kidney beans, diced tomato, halved cherry tomatoes, diced yellow capsicum, diced red onion, diced avocado, chopped coriander, crushed garlic and lime juice (sounds like a lot of prep, actually, but it’s not too bad).

    Cold plate: Sliced tomato drizzled with olive oil and seasoned, diced avocado seasoned and drizzled with lemon juice, devilled eggs if you can be bothered, tin of nice red salmon or tuna, hommus if you have it, crusty bread, any fruit you want too.

Comments are closed.

