Princess Nebraska Mother’s Day Gift Guide

So first of all, the response to my Etsy store has been awesome and I am thrilled.  It is absolutely the best feeling when all of your hard work pays off and people like what you do. Thank you so much to everyone.

You can enter to win a onesie donated by me over at Swistle’s site, I will admit I have lost all track of the rules and what you need to do to win, but I am sure you all can figure it out.

In other news, it seems I have a developed a rather largish crush on Jason Castro

I KNOW! It’s horrifying to me as well, but I can’t help it.  

There’s something about his dirty hippie vibe that just melts my butter.  Although it might be that blasted guitar he’s always playing.  I am a total sucker for a man doing something – you know what I mean? Like, I don’t care if he’s playing a guitar or shoving a vacuum cleaner around or baling hay or what have you, it just really gets me when a man DOES something.  Luckily for me Mr. E does science, and if that doesn’t get you hot I don’t know what will.

Haaaaaaaaaaa, this is what happens when Diet Coke goes on sale at Safeway and your baby doesn’t sleep!

Also, I am pretty sure Eli ate poop today, (his own), so get to work on that mother of the year nomination for me, why don’tcha?

Ok, so, a semi revolting development occurred in our house right about the time that Mr. E and I saw that Will Ferrell movie where he likes Maggie Gyllenhall, what the hell is the name of it? Oh, thank you Google, the movie is Stranger Than Fiction.  Mr. E has shamelessly ripped off the movie and now every time there’s a major gift giving event he brings me flours. As in, bags of flour.  Like, flours. Or flowers. But flour.

So yeah, it was cute the first time, but I am drawing the line! No more flour!

So here’s my mother’s day gift idea list and I defy any one of you out there to not love every single item on here! Please note that there is no flour on the list.

1.  Stuff For Your Face.

As soon as I became a mom taking care of my own business really got put on the back burner, which is why face stuff is extra awesome.  I have a few things I’ve had my eye on for a little while but that I don’t own yet:

Mario Badescu Drying Lotion

 

The internet swears by this stuff.  Recently the internet and I had to have a little come to jesus because the internet also loves that wretched Philosophy Hope In A Jar, but I am going to give the internet a second chance on this one.

Benefit Blush In Dallas

And this Cosmedicine eye goop, which Stara assures me is fabu, and she is the queen of the overpriced face stuff, so I totally trust her.

2. A manicure and a pedicure at some chi chi salon.  Time alone AND a foot rub? Tres awesome.

3. I was going to do an entire blog post on my cute new summer wardrobe and then I realized that it was going to be either a mighty boring post or a massive lie as my summer wardrobe is going to consist of the same damn thing it does every summer – J Crew t shirts and shorts from American Eagle and some flip flops from J Crew. However in the course of my “research”  I did come across this dress and it’s so gorgeous and perfect it makes me want to DIE. From Anthropologie.

4.  I am mostly over jewelry as gift giving because I don’t wear a lot of it, and I already have some lurvely diamond earrings that I got for Christmas from Mr. E, but I recently lost my beloved Tiffany necklace and it seems like an apropos time to mention that from the moment I first laid eyes on these necklaces from Jeanine Payer I have ADORED them.  Going through and reading the quotes and figuring out what one really speaks to you is half the wonderfullness.  Someday I will own one of these. Probably not this year because of house buying suckitude, but some day.

5.  The Flip Video Camera.

This appears to be awesome. I want it, and I think I can safely say that I need it because otherwise how am I going to show a video to Eli’s prom date of him doing his naked bootie dance?

6. A speedlight flash for my camera so I can haul even more shit around in my camera bag. And also take pictures in my cave house with the zero natural light.

7.  A gift certificate to Amazon so I can buy some books I’ve got my eye on, specifically these five new books

         

which I can’t believe I don’t freaking own yet.  This present is even more awesome if it comes with a promise of time alone to read said books. Hopefully while getting a pedicure.

Also, if you happen to be married to me, just remember that I bought you three presents in the last two months and it hasn’t even been father’s day yet!  Although I would like to add that there is no present in the world more awesome than a husband who has to be at work at 6:30 AM and who doesn’t feel good and who has just come home from working until 10 PM the night before and who STILL takes the baby into the other room from the hours of 2-7 when the baby won’t sleep. 

What a guy.

9 Responses

  1. Sadly, I AM the queen of overpriced skin care. And I just stepped up my game to include the Natura Bisse line. Reviews coming soon.

    And I want that damn dress too. Been coveting for months.

    AND lastly, my husband gave our father in law that camera thing. He loves it.

  2. This is a fantastic list. I have been meaning to put a list together too for Mother’s Day, so I’ll link to you when I do.

  3. The Jeanine Payer pieces? Are the kind of thing that makes me wish that I was a jewelry designer and came up with that idea. The Allison and Book of Elements necklaces, the Atia earrings … gorgeous.

  4. I just purchased two tank tops (on sale!) from Anthropologie because they were on sale and I have no cute tank tops that actually fit me. So when el husbando asked what was this change from this weird place on our bank statement I replied that I NEED NEW TOPS because all of my old ones are too big. And the cute ones form Anthropologie were ON SALE and very CUTE. And if he can get a new gd road bike and helmet and what-the-f@rk ever then I can buy a gd $40 tank top. So there. If I were you I would just buy the dress and damn the consequences.

  5. I loooove Princess Nebraska gift guides. I’ve been eyeing that drying lotion, but having the same Hope In A Jar-related doubts. Hurry up and buy it so I know what to do!

  6. I keep coming back to this list, I love it! I absolutely adore the dress, I wish I had some where to wear it! The books look great (but I kept forgetting the names, which is why I kept having to come back. I swear I’m not stalking you!) I’m always on the lookout for a great book. And if I ever hit the lotto, I swear I’m buying one of those necklaces. I’m really hoping for a pedicure at a great spa for mother’s day, but I know I’ll probably just get some sort of kitchen appliance or worse gardening supplies! In case I forget, I hope you have a wonderful Mother’s Day.

  7. Hi there

    I run a site Unique Gift Newborn ( http://uniquegiftnewbornbabies.com ).
    I believe it would be beneficial for both of us if we do blogroll link exchange.

    Here is the Description for the Link Exchange

    Title Unique Gift Newborn
    URL http://uniquegiftnewbornbabies.com

    thanks
    John Border

  8. If I were 19 years younger, I’d totally be one of those girls swooning over Jason Castro as he strummed his guitar in the dorm room lounge. It’s a sad thing to admit about yourself.

  9. Hi friend. I must say i enjoy this posting in addition to the website in general! Your write-up can be quite plainly created and successfully understandable. Your blog design is wonderful in addition! Many of us require much more these types of web owners as if you over the internet and also much fewer spammers. Great friend!

Comments are closed.

