Living Streak Free Since 1993

Oh people. People people people.  I can’t be the only hopelessly anal type A uber controlling person you know.  I will so NOT be showing you pictures of my house while it is filled with boxes and rolled up rugs and old burrito containers and dogs and cats and other assorted derbis.  Oh hells no.

I’ll make a deal with you, though, and as I finish off selected areas I might take a few pictures here and there.  Keeping in mind that the walls will eventually be painted and the floors redone.  And all that.  Lucky for you I am almost done with the bathroom – and  if the promise of pictures of my bathroom isn’t enough to get you out of bed in the morning, well, I just don’t know what to tell you anymore.

So I just bought this new stainless refrigerator and it is my new favorite thing, ever, right after my Obama Hope poster and mah baby.  I almost didn’t buy it because I went into a semi panic minutes before I ordered it and did some frantic googling to find out what the cool types were buying and I did come across a fair number of disdainful design snobs declaring that stainless was SO over and that it was going to be our generations’ avocado green and blooh blah blah hoo ha, but first of all, so sue me, I like stainless steel. I’ve always liked it and furthermore I have a stainless steel trash can and a stainless steel pot rack and a stainless steel toaster and a stainless steel espresso machine and an overpriced IKEA stainless steel shelf and also I couldn’t help but notice that despite everyone being SO OVER stainless steel, no one had any other good suggestions besides white and a white refrigerator doesn’t exactly butter my popcorn so I went with the stainless.

And I heard all about the dreaded fingerprints of doom but sad to say, although I am ashamed to admit it, I LIKE cleaning stainless steel. I might go so far as to say I LOVE it.   I find it immensely satisfying, wiping away smudges, getting everything absolutely freaking as clean as it can be, all sterilized and shit.  It’s right up there with Pledging on my list of fun house stuff to do.

However, a word of caution.  They might revoke my pass to the internet for admitting this but I am not a fan of Method products. I bought some Method dish soap once and the smell made me gag – had to throw that out. All my dishes smelled like it and it was totally uncool.  Then I had the Method O Mop and the handle straight up snapped off while I was using it. Also uncool. I wasn’t trying to like, mop the lawn or anything, I was just going along using it on my kitchen floor with the approved pad cleaner thing and bam, it snapped off in my hand.  So against my better judgment I gave them a third chance and when I was in Target I bought the Method Stainless Spray and the special Method Stainless Microfiber cloth because it was the only stainless cleaner they had of any kind which doesn’t that seem illegal? It should be if it isn’t and anyway the point is that it absolutely sucked, sucked, sucked.  It left giant yucky streaks all over everything and if there’s any way to take the fun out of your stainless cleaning kicks it’s giant streaks all over every damn surface.  Anyway, I then bought some of these Sprayway overpriced disposable wipes from Cost Plus and it’s all good, they’re the bomb. I would link them but I can’t find them anywhere, naturally.

Anyway, point is, Suck it, Method.

Also, Comcast told me Mr. E yesterday that they couldn’t be sure but maybe they would bring us our DVR today.  Apparently that is code for “We will pound on your door at 7:30 AM tomorrow with a DVR in our hand.” SEVEN THIRTY AM! That’s just indecent!

To which I also say, Suck it Comcast.

6 Responses

  1. We have a stainless steel fridge and I have to fight the urge to make-out with it on a DAILY BASIS. And it’s BY FAR the item most complimented in our house.

  2. Two things:

    1) I kind of like the avocado green and harvest gold, and was pleased when we had a harvest gold fridge in our last apartment. Those are looking good again! I wish I could buy them now! Seems like they’d hide dirt well. So I say get what you like (um, the way you DID), because pooh on those designers. What, people are going to JUDGE ME because my fridge is SOOOOO 5 minutes ago?

    2) I hate Method, too, and I was so sure I’d love it. I bought two scents of general purpose cleaner, the pink grapefruity one and the green cucumber one, and both of them made me queasy with their scents—and usually I LOVE grapefruit and cucumber scents.

  3. I just bought a stainless fridge too, and I love it. I’m over the design snobs.

    Congratulations on finally being in the house and making progress!

  4. I want a stainless steel fridge. Whimper whimper. I know exactly what you mean about cleaning stainless steel, but the only stainless steel I GET to clean is my microwave and my griddle cover. I have never tried method. But I’d always heard it was good. Now I know better, because I trust you wholeheartedly. I really do. Sick, huh? 🙂 And I agree with Swistle. I kinda’ like avocado and harvest gold. So sue me.

  5. I also have stainless appliances and you know what? I like. We have dark cupboards and it looks hot. We are selling out house and the kitchen is far and away the most complimented feature.

  6. I don’t like the Method cleaners either. I’m a huge fan of the Clorox natural cleaner. Although, I’m not sure how it will work on stainless steel (I’m a white fridge kind of gal!).

Comments are closed.

