Yes. We. Did. But We’re Not Done Yet.

I am beyond moved, this morning, at what our country did, together, last night.

I am thrilled to be alive in this moment. To not just see history being made, but to help make it.

I am so proud, this morning, to be an American.

I am so ready for George W. Bush to scoot his way on back to Texas.

I am heartsick that my gay friends are waking up to a California that has said “No, your life is not ok with us.”  But I am hopeful that President Obama is going to fix this Prop Eight mess.

I am so grateful that where I had Ronald Reagan, my son will have Barack Obama.

I am already wondering what other barriers we can break.  I am looking forward to voting for Chelsea Clinton in 2032.

I am so sorry that it has become a world in which anyone feels ashamed to be a Republican.  I absolutely hope that the Republican party regains its footing and can reclaim some of the good things that being a Republican means.  There is no doubt in my mind that this country needs the balance of opposing opinions. I will never support divisive, angry, hateful, prejudicial politics, but that can happen regardless of your political party. I shudder to think of an America run only by Democrats.  So, chin up, Republicans.  We need you too.

I am, above all else, inspired.  I believe in NOTHING more than the spirit that lies in all of us – the spirit that rises up when we are told “No” or “That’s impossible” or “you can’t” and that says, instead, “We Can. We will.  We’re Gonna.”

And We Did.

Hell yes, we did.

13 Responses

  1. Thank you for continuing to say things better than I can.

  2. Well said!

  3. I sent in my absentee ballot last week. I have been holding my breath ever since. I am speechless. And though I living in Canada, I am so incredibly proud to be American.

  4. I agree that two parties are needed – thanks for having the backbone to say that. What those two parties should stand for, of course, is all up for debate, but having one party running everything is a very scary option long term.

  5. Well said. I hope that all of the mud flinging can stop and both sides can work together.

  6. What a lovely post.

  7. Wasn’t it just remarkable!? The pride was coming off of that crowd in waves – and in our living room too, where a lot of happy tears were shed. Yay us! Now we need to get to work……

  8. ahhh! you made me cry TWO days in a row!
    this has been the most emotional two days in recent memory – your posts have been everything.

    i don’t know if you can see how many people share your posts in google reader, but i shared yesterday’s, and then my friend shared it on to all of her friends. so 🙂 i also made your words my facebook status, i hope that’s okay.

    “we believe. we love. and we hope, with our heads held high. with all the audacity we’ve got.”

  9. I am not ashamed to be a Republican. Nor are any of my friends, relatives, acquaintances, or coworkers who are Republican. I find the “chin up” comment and the following paragraph a little condescending, to be honest with you.

    That said, I still don’t see how Prop 8 passed. Why is it not ok for gay people to get married? Who is it hurting? Makes no sense to this Republican.

  10. What I found unfortunate was that in an effort to motivate change, many quality Republican Senators and Representatives were replaced not because they are ineffective but because of the waive against the party. See example of Gordon Smith in Oregon.

    But, I am glad to see a positive energy around the world leader if nothing else. A remarkable change we needed.

    As for Prop 8 – yes a shocking step back. California continues to confuse me as to what their politics are.

    But, didn’t Obama state he was against same-sex marriage during his campaign as well? I might be wrong, perhaps he was just referring to the Federal level?

    I think we should prepare ourselves that as unfortunate as it might be, gay rights is not going to be anywhere near the top of his priority list with the other challenges he faces at this time.

  11. Speaking as one that lives in Texas – we don’t really want him back – so please, feel free to take him. 🙂

  12. Thanks for the nod to us Republicans. 🙂 I too love the pendulum swinging that our country does. It keeps us in check.

Comments are closed.

