A Day Late and A Dollar Short

Very late for a round up of the year post of any kind, I know.  And some of these things aren’t even from 2008.  So sue me.  Here are a few of my favorite things from last year, this year, whatever.

1. Favorite movie.  I’m going to go out on a limb here and say “The Orphanage“.  Now, keep in mind, I hate all movies, mostly. I walked out of There Will Be Blood.  I haven’t seen No Country for Old Men and I am more interested in seeing Of Time and the City than I am in seeing Twilight, but The Orphanage just really did it for me.  It was scary and sad and creepy and lovely, all at the same time.

2. Favorite book.  Hands down, The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks. I checked it out from the library and now I have to buy my own copy so I can read it again and again.  There were a lot of other books that I enjoyed this year, but this is the only one that restored my faith in humanity.  Runner Up:  So Brave, Young, and Handsome was a more difficult read, but was also pretty great.  And I am currently reading American Wife, and damn, that Curtis Sittenfeld is a good writer.

3. Favorite TV Show:  Hmmm. This year Top Chef is full of people making the kind of food I can make at home (watermelon salad, really? ) which is disappointing.  Gossip Girl isn’t as fun as it used to be, especially because Loathsome Dan has been joined by Loathsome Boy Whose Name I Can’t Even Be Bothered to Remember but is who Dating Sabrina and Is the Most Annoying TV Character I Can Remember Since the Days of Dawson and That is Really Saying Something.  Lipstick Jungle tires me with its contrived plots and tottering weird old Andrew McCarthy makes me depressed and also grosses me out, and I don’t watch Mad Men so I have no idea what’s up with all the hype but fine, I just put it on my Netflix cue so I will give Season One another chance, and I’m going to just have to go ahead and pick Battlestar Galactica here because despite what you may believe it is really nothing more than a giant love story and I am sucker for the mushy stuff especially when it also involves girls! kicking! ass!

4.  Favorite thing I bought this year:  Is it cheating to say my house?  My house followed by my flowery duvet cover and all the overpriced bed linens I put into making my bedroom a place I love instead of a place I want to close the door on and leave behind.  Oh,  no, actually, my favorite thing I bought this year, BY A MILE, is my dishwasher.  God, I love that crazy machine.

5. Favorite Sports Team You Didn’t Know I Was a Huge Fan Of:  Everyone is surprised to find out I love basketball, but what can I say? A woman’s heart is a deep ocean of secrets.  This is the year that I fell back in love with my beloved Portland Trailblazers, that I started subscribing to a Blazers blog so I could follow the Darius Miles saga obsessively, that I started texting my brother “Rip City” three times a week, the year we lost Our Beloved OO and that Terry Porter had his jersey retired and that Brandon Roy played a career high game and I watched it, and this is the year that I discovered that Eli loves basketball almost as much as I do.  And on Christmas day my brother and I and my sister and Eli and Mr. E and my step sister sat and watched the Blazer game when it came on and it was probably the most fun thing we did that whole weekend. My sister announced right off the bat that she was not a fan, but that she would root for the Blazers, just to be nice, and then she followed the game more closely than I did, cheering and rooting and shouting “defense” like her life depended on it.  Awesome.

6. My Favorite Blog Posts of the Year:

This one, or this one, or this one.  Oh, and this one that Tricia just wrote.  And a million more that I forgot to bookmark and I promise to remedy that next year.

7.  My Favorite Thing I Made:  This is my second favorite thing I’ve ever made, (hee), ever.  Still love it, six months later.

8.  My Favorite Thing I cooked:  Either this chicken (I used rice cakes to make the bread crumbs), this beef stroganoff (serve over gf noodles) with garlic green beans and cranberry sauce on the side, this caramel sauce, or this gluten free lemon cake.  Also, these meatballs (made with turkey) are insanely good. Oh, no, I think it was Thanksgiving dinner. That brined turkey was so insanely good and the day was so mellow and fun, I kind of wanted to do it all over again as soon as it was over.

9.  My favorite christmas gift:  Probably the Orla Kiely wallet my brother gave me, although I was also pretty thrilled to get this book.

10.  Favorite guilty pleasure:  If you’re not listening to Mark Kermode’s BBC movie reviews (I subscribe to the podcast), you’re missing out.  God, I love that man.  So bitchy, so pompous! So sure of his own opinion! So very much like me! LOVE HIM.

9 Responses

  1. I hated There Will Be Blood (turned it off; what was up with the headache-inducing music). You should add Weeds to your Netflix queue.

  2. I actually hate when people say “you should …” But I think you’d like it, how about that?

  3. I love that wallet. And now I will be reading that book. Was just complaining about nothing to read 5 seconds ago.

    Slightly terrified you will hate Mad Men and then I will feel so not cool.

  4. I think you forgot “favorite baby I watched be born” 😉

  5. It warms my heart to see The Disreputable History on there. I loved that book so very very much.

  6. Are you serious? I made the list?

    You’re my favorite.

  7. Totally off topic, but as soon as I saw this I thought of you. Did you know Orla Keily is coming to Target?

    http://www.doorsixteen.com/2009/01/12/orla-kiely-for-target/

  8. If you go to see Twilight, I recommend you bring something to chew on. Otherwise inappropriate exclamations may come out. (As the did for me.) That being said… it was better than the book. The movie was about an hour and a half long, which beats 500 pages of “topaz” synonyms any day of the week.

  9. I still love your pillow, too. You should sell them on your Etsy shop, I’d buy one.

Comments are closed.

