The Best Ships

At my brother in laws’ wedding, one of his groomsmen stood up and gave the cheesiest toast EVAH:

“There are good ships,
and there are wood ships,
The ships that sail the sea.
But the best ships, are friendships,
And may they always be.”

Mr. E and I always laughed our asses off about that toast, because we’re bitches.

But it was the strangest thing.  This weekend, those lines – words I’ve always mocked – ran through my head over and over and over again.

I wish I could tell you that The Blathering was terrible so you wouldn’t be sad that you weren’t here, that it was filled with awkward silence and eight girls cried and there was a CRAZZZZZY SWAG THROW DOWN, but the truth is that The Blathering was nothing short of MAGICAL.  It was  as if someone made a cocktail of all the most wonderful things in the world and shook them up into one unbelievable and perfect weekend.  There was dancing and delicious food, and wine tasting, and chocolate, and tomatoes, and everyone complimented my cooking and my house and there was late night girl talk and in jokes and never a moment of silence.  I laughed so hard my face hurt, many many times.  There were margaritas and hammock dive bombs and and there was candlelight and gay bars and pink Iphones and tequila shots and the Sacramento girls knew all the best places to go and there were bagels and ham sandwiches and I’m not sure what this says about me, but it was one of the best weekends of my whole entire life.

You girls.  There are just no words.  (Except all these ones I just wrote, yo.)

Also, the ladies of The Blathering left me with a house full of Diet Coke, dark chocolate, and gin, all of which I am using to drown my sorrows as I wander listlessly about my house asking “Where did the Funny People go? When are they coming basaaaaaack?”

It used to be I’d look at certain people – some of the incredible women I have in my life – and I’d think “Her husband/boyfriend/lesbian life partner is so lucky to have her.”  And now I’m old and lame and I usually find myself thinking “That kid is so lucky to have her for a mom.”

But this weekend I just kept thinking “Dude.  I am so damn lucky to have her as a friend.”

23 Responses

  1. I know we celebrated the fact that there was no crying despite the massive amounts of GIRLNESS, but I am definitely having the crying now. It’s true—easily one of the best weekends of my life. I take solace in the fact that I live so close to you, and that we will be getting together soon. Or else you’ll find me sitting on your {adorable!} porch waiting for you to get home from the park. Thank you again for hosting us and being so amazing. Awesome weekend.

  2. I’m so glad you guys had a great time. My husband is so sick of hearing me whine about not being there- he kept saying “you can go next year”. So, seriously, you MUST do this again next year 🙂

  3. I couldn’t agree more. Sadly, the time I was able to spend with you all was FAR FAR FAR too short…but I count myself blessed to have been there at all. And, for the record, I TOTALLY CRIED the whole entire time I was describing the day to my husband. Thanks for everything, Elizabeth, it was a pleasure spending that time with you.

  4. HAMMOCK DIVE BOMBS?! WHICH ONE OF THOSE IDIOTS DID THAT MESS?!

    I really, really did have the most fabulous weekend EVER. I have tried to write a more appropriate toast to you all in my head over and over again as I traveled home. And you were the most amazing hostess and I will probably spend the next year of my life (while waiting for the next Blathering, of course) copying you and trying to make my house pretty like yours.
    And sorry for breaking your hammock, heeeeee.

  5. Thank you so much for hosting – I had so much fun and I feel lucky that maybe soon we can have a playdate and drinks..

  6. I’m glad that y’all had such a good time even though I 1) couldn’t be there and 2) got not one text message from y’all all weekend *pout*

    I knew that you and your house would be a rousing success. 🙂

  7. I couldn’t have said it better myself. It was such an awesome time and I’m so happy to have been a part of it.

  8. It really was magical. That’s a pretty fitting word for the whole experience.

    I’ll hopefully see you in December.

  9. ***Sniff** I am so sad I couldn’t be there…the photos so far show what a good time everyone was having! Next year for sure!!!

  10. Elizabeth! This post brought a tear! I am in full recovery mode, as I’m sure are you. What a great time. Thank you so much for everything you put into it. It certainly was memorable. xo

  11. That toast. OMG. It has me wondering where fellowships, sponsorships, etc. fall into things, since it switched so dramatically from actual ships to non-actual ships, and it seems as if those can’t REALLY be compared, and that maybe the rhyming cleverness is trying to DISTRACT us from that.

  12. […] *I just want to give mad props to Elizabeth, who not only HOSTED us all weekend, but also managed to elicit tears from me when reading her wrap-up of the Blathering. […]

  13. When I went home yesterday, I thought to myself, I wonder if Elizabeth, Amy, and Daniela think I’m totally weird if I’m all “Hey Ladies — Baby Blathering — Coming Soon — Let’s Have Drinks!” Because I miss everyone already but it is nice to know there is a little piece of that experience here around town.

    Truth be told, after I wondered that, I of course refreshed Twitter like 800 bazillion times! 🙂

  14. I’m so jealous you met my lovely Amy from Just A Titch! One of these days…

  15. I adored everything about your house and you and oh mah gah, the dinner you made was INCREDIBLE. That peanut butter salad foodness? I can’t get it off of my mind. Recipe?

    Thank you so much for hosting my lushness. I’m sorry you were squished between me and that random dude at Lounge20 for the photo.

    But truly, thank you so much for opening up your home to us all.

  16. Thank you so much for hosting! Sorry I didn’t get to say goodbye. My Twittering attempt failed. The Blathering was definitely a success. I’m still trying to process it all, including the night spent watching gay line dancing and drag queens.

  17. Awww, beautifully said. Thanks to all of you girls for this wonderful idea, and the even-more-wonderful execution of it!

  18. Oh, I am SO glad it was fun.

  19. Thank you so much for all the work you did and letting me stay in your beautiful house and for not once making us feel bad for DESTROYING YOUR HAMMOCK. You are simply lovely. And it was an amazing weekend. Best I’ve had in a long time.

  20. Although I’m jealous that I wasn’t able to experience it first hand, I’m thrilled that you all had such a wonderful time. And I love that most of my favorite blogs were represented!

    I thought of one thing when I read that toast – that should have been included in the boat-themed wedding at the beginning of “Wedding Crashers.”

  21. […] fills up there’s lots of other lodging options and eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeh I am so excited!  Last year was the BEST, dudes.  I am so so so thrilled we’re doing this again and I am really hoping lots of people […]

  22. […] if you want to read a proper recap of the weekend please click on over to any of these lovely posts here, here, here, here, here or […]

Comments are closed.

