Things Other People Love That I Just Don’t Get

1. Dave Matthews Band

2. that whole weird hipster mustache thing

3. Liberty of London

4. Philosophy anything

5. Or that Bare Minerals stuff.

6. A Prayer for Owen Meany.  Dave Eggers.  And The Girl With a Dragon Tattoo.

7.  Tom Hanks and Bradley Cooper (haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaate).

8.  ballet flats

9.  CGI

10.  weird shit in my chocolate.

11.  Method cleaner

12. Mad Men

13.  Dancing With the Stars

14.  cilantro

15. skinny jeans

16. men’s cologne

17.  headbands

18.  ruffles

19.  chalkboard paint

20. and naps.

25 Responses

  1. It’s a literal miracle that we are friends, considering I love DMB, Bare Minerals, Method cleaner, ballet flats, cilantro, Mad Men, men’s cologne, ruffles, headbands AND naps.

    I am WITH YOU on the skinny jeans, though. HATE.

    P.S. EMAIL ME BACK. I know where you live.

  2. I am with you on naps (unless I am deathly ill or suffering from a migraine) dancing with the stars (it makes me think less of people that have been on that show. DON’T GO ON THAT SHOW) and cilantro (WHY VOLUNTARILY EAT SOAP?)

    But, um….we are going to have to agree to disagree on some other things.

    xoxo

  3. I love this.

  4. I have always admired your ability to be personally insulted by broad social trends!

  5. I am with you on EVERYTHING except 10, 12, and 14. (Among the things acceptable in chocolate? Caramel, raspberries, huckleberries, and BACON. Mmmmm.)

    I’m trying to get on board with the ruffles. But it’s not working out so well. (Especially when my husband look at me with the I-just-ate-a-large-squishy-caterpillar-by-accident-but-I’m-dining-with-someone-important-and-trying-to-pretend-nothing-gross-is-going-on expression whenever I try something ruffly on.)

  6. I’ll take your cilantro if you don’t want it.

  7. Hmmm…some of these I am totally with you on (like skinny jeans and Bradley Cooper), but I have to disagree about Philosophy products and Bare Minerals makeup because I am a makeup whore and I love pretty much everything shiny and pretty. And while I hate Dave Eggers with the fire of ten thousand suns, I really love A Prayer for Owen Meany, and The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo is one of my all-time favorites!

  8. But…but…naps?! Fine, I get that The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo isn’t everyone’s cup of tea, but NAPS?! Naps are the essences of life. Even right now, I’m plotting how I can sneak out of work to take a 20 minute nap in my car. I LIVE for sleep. I don’t get this.

    But I respect your list. I think it’s ballsy.

  9. I’d give up the few things (minority of the items) I actually like on the list – every single one of them – for cilantro. I love that stuff and can’t get enough.

  10. I’m with you on a good 75% of this.

  11. Agree about Dancing With The Stars, Method cleaners, ruffles, cilantro, and skinny jeans.
    But naps? When PREGNANT?

    I do think this list is ballsy though, as said above. Like giving a finger to People magazine, basically.

  12. ha – I love the last one… had me rolling. You don’t get naps. But you love them. :snicker: I feel your pain though. ❤

  13. The Magic Bullet.

    More like Magic Piece of Junk that Will Leak All Over Your Counter EVERY TIME YOU USE IT UNTIL YOU THROW IT AWAY SOAKED IN ORANGE JULIUS.

    Ahem.

  14. I am so over Dave Eggers and I didn’t realize it until I read your post. It’s okay. I don’t like him.

    I LOVE Mad Men. But I’m with you on Method cleaner. I can handle a show about marketing, but I can’t handle a cleaner which is absolutely nothing but marketing. All form, no substance. And barely form. I think it’s just popular because of the font on the packaging (Avenir, because you didn’t ask.)

    This was a great post.

  15. I know I shouldn’t love Dave Matthews music as much as I do but I. Cant’t. Help. Myself. Also the first old man crush I ever had? Jimmy Doogan in A league of their own aka Tom Hanks, when I was eightish. What is wrong with me?

  16. I’m with you on 1,2,3,5,6,7 (GOD I HATE TOM HANKS SO MUCH),9,13,16,and 19. So we’re an even 50/50. That’s ok, so long as my hatred of Tom Hanks and Dave Matthews are totally raging, right?

  17. Yeah, Bradley Cooper, what is with the fascination? He just reminds me of those stupid, richy-rich, keg-standing asshole guys in college.

  18. BTW I’m totally stealing this blogging idea for a later post 🙂

  19. love this list! so funny and yet so controversial. i had no idea people had such strong feelings about things like cilantro. clearly, your commenters are a diverse (and hilarious) bunch.

    the one that really sparked my interest was Liberty of London. all i know of them is what i’ve seen at Target and I AM IN LOVE with ALL of it, however none of it goes with my “decor”. i am sad, but my bank account is happy.

  20. Not sure why people commenting are even stating whether they are with you or not on your list of items. It’s YOUR LIST! Think I’ll go make my own list now. :-))

    DI
    The Blue Ridge Gal

  21. There is a weird hipster mustache thing? And what and who are A Prayer for Owen Meany & Dave Eggers. And Bradley Cooper?

    I am so incredibly out of touch though maybe that is a good thing

  22. New here – followed the link from The Eleventh and am oh-so-glad that I did.

    I am enjoying your blog and am contemplating stealing this idea for a future post!

  23. I’m stealing this from Jennie who stole it from you. Hope that is ok!

  24. I had two friends sit me down and force me to listen to Dave Matthews Band once, because they were appalled that I never had. I wasn’t a fan. Totally overrated, I say.

    LOATHE cilantro.

    Hate skinny jeans. They are just not flattering on the human body.

    Shows like Dancing with the Stars have absolutely no appeal to me. I’ve never even watched an episode of American Idol. Ever.

    And I used to love naps but now physically can’t take them anymore. I’ll be honest, I’m kind of bummed about that. A Sunday afternoon nap with the sun shining on your bed is one of the best things in life.

Comments are closed.

