Resolutions

It’s too early to start with New Year’s Resolutions, I know! But I’m just so excited that this year I don’t have to put “Get my drivers license” on there that I can’t wait to get a list going, I guess.

My main goal for this year is to try to have more fun.  If I want to wear purple argyle knee socks to the grocery store, then by gum I am going to do it! I used to be so  much more fun! I really did! I once wore full body plaid multi colored plaid J Crew pajamas to school, and it was fun. I rocked it! And then I became someone who was afraid to wear a purple t shirt instead of a navy t shirt just in case someone might think I was weird or dorky or trying too hard and dammit, I am sick of worrying about all that.  Life will not end if you wear something crazy and someone thinks you are weird, for goodness sake.

I also want to try to cook food that I think is exciting and fun.  I don’t feel proud or happy or accomplished when I microwave frozen lasagna, I just don’t.  The things I make don’t have to be fancy, but I want them to be things that move me or thrill me.  I want to get excited about what’s coming out of my kitchen again, and I want to feel like one of the gang when I read books about food or watch No Reservations or Top Chef, instead of like a poser.

I want to keep on trying to lose weight, even though it is going very slowly and it seems sort of pointless. It isn’t really.  I did something weird to my knee, so I have to take a little break and ice the crap out of it, but really, I am a better person when I am running regularly.

I am going to try so hard to stick to a budget this year.  Last year we failed at this completely.  Time and time again.  I thought Mint was going to be the magic answer and I tried to use it for a few months but it kept losing transactions, and it was very very frustrating when this would happen. If it’s not accurate, it’s useless. So it’s back to the spreadsheet.  The key isn’t never spending money, I have realized, it’s just keeping track of it when we do spend money.

And lastly.  I’ve been waiting for 15 years for the plot of a book to magically come to me in a dream. (Damn you Stephenie Meyer!).  I’ve come to the realization that this dream book is never going to happen, but that’s ok.  This is the year I am going to make it happen anyway.  I am going to write a book.  Even if I have to sit down in front of the computer every night and stare at a blank screen for three hours until something makes its way onto the page, it doesn’t matter.  I am going to do it.  I WILL I WILL I WILL.

The thing is this.  This year when I finally got my driver’s license, I did something that’s been terrifying me for YEARS.  Decades. I did one of MY very hardest things.  It absolutely scared me to death and I did it anyway, and do you know what that means?  Well, it means that I can do anything.  And I’m gonna.

11 Responses

  1. seems like that drivers license opened the flood gates…watch out world, here you come!

    Be fearless, you only live once!

  2. I love your list, esp to have more fun. My big, big, big one is to relax more but of course I have 50 other things I want to do.

  3. Last year I decided that I wanted more time for myself and I think I did okay at that in 2010, but I AM starting to think about what I want in 2011 and I’m coming up short.

    Even more time for myself seems impossible, seeing as how I’ll have a newborn in May, so I’m leaning towards something project oriented, probably for the house. But, I’m having a hard time making that sound fun. I would like to save more money in 2011 but, again, NOT FUN.

    What I would really like is for Jennie to organize something fun for me to attend every month so I don’t have to do any work. She’s good at that.

  4. I was just thinking about resolutions last night, too. Instead of sleeping. Because I’m a terrible sleeper. One of my goals has been to go to bed earlier and not hit the snooze a dozen times in the morning, but who likes going to bed at 10pm? Especially when the boyfriend is still awake?

    Anyway, I’m off track. I want to have more fun, too, cook without stressing out about it and read the Classics again. That’s what 2011 is going to be for me: the year of the Classics. (I’ve never read Wuthering Heights. I KNOW)

  5. I felt similarly after having my wisdom teeth out and riding in a hot air balloon—if I did those things, why can’t I do the OTHER things, like learn French or take guitar lessons or lose that mother effing weight? I think little victories build on one another.

    Also, the book writing thing? Me too. I’ve got so many teaching stories rattling around that I want to turn into a book of essays. This is the year, yo. Once I clear my desk and make Andrew clean his shiz up so I can you know, HAVE A CHAIR IN MY FRACKING OFFICE. But we should hold one another accountable and such. Or just bitch about it.

  6. I can’t wait to read your book.

    I think (one of) my resolution(s) will be to write more, for myself. The writing group helped me a LOT in that respect, and I want to keep it up, with the writing group or without it.

  7. Your list made me excited! I’ve been thinking about what I want 2011 to look and following Garrett around asking him where he wants to travel next year because I am in full on Plan Mode. This mode makes me giddy. 🙂 And the book thing? Yes, just yes. The discipline of writing is so difficult. I’m adding that to the list just like I do every year. Maybe this year I will make it happen, too!

  8. No, no, way too early! Post a link after Christmas so I can enjoy it properly! Right now it seems like “AAAAAAAAAAAA more things to do AAAAAAAAAA!!,” whereas after the holidays it’ll seem like fresh! new! year! and plenty of time to do interesting! things!

  9. My money is on the book. Can’t wait to read it. Thanks for sharing your list. And congratulations on giving yourself some room to be an individual. Let’s see a picture of some argyle knee socks.

  10. Good for you! I’m so glad that you’ve got goals for 2011, and I know you’ll work so hard to achieve them!

Comments are closed.

