Fashion Emergency*

One of my New Year’s Resolutions that I just now invented because I felt like it is to wear something on my feet besides flip flops and faux Uggs.  I have nine trillion pairs of gorgeous shoes just rotting away in my closet and if you can’t wear a pair of red high heels to pre school drop off then where the heck can you wear them, I ask you?

However as I was rooting around on my shoe shelf area earlier it occurred that I had better check with the internet to confirm – are we still doing the pointy toed shoe thing? Because most of my shoes are either 1. flip flops 2. impractically high heels and 3. very pointed toed flats, and maybe all the very pointy toed flats are super passe and lame and so four years ago? I mean, I am willing to maybe not be on the cutting edge of fashion, for example I don’t need to wear shoes made of actual bacon, but I’d like the other moms not to, say, point and laugh.

Please advise.  Although these shoes are pretty great, you have to admit, and I might just have to wear them anyway, fashion be damned.

PS When I say “Fashion Emergency”, I obviously mean like not really an emergency of any kind.

14 Responses

  1. I love them!!! I need more shoes. Sigh.

  2. I am not up on shoe fashion either, I spend all my time in a wonderfully comfortable pair of Ariat Fat Babys. That said, I vote great shoes!

  3. I am seriously in love with those!! Yes yes yes on the pointy toed shoes!

  4. Pointy toed shoes have always reminded me of the wicked witch of the west, which I suppose is why I’m horribly fashion challenged. If I saw you wearing those I definitely wouldn’t point and stare. I’d sigh and think about how lame I am.

    P.S. I don’t even know if the wicked witch HAD pointy shoes. I think its because her nose was so pointy.

  5. LOVE the shoes! WANT.

    I’m a pointy-toed show wearer. Round toe shoes don’t look right on me. So pointy-toes unite!

  6. Thumbs up! I’m not a shoe girl myself, really, but I like those a lot. And more than anything, I think fashion this season (and always, really?) is about being yourself. Jeggings, widelegs, faded, saturated … if you love them, wear them!! I would. 🙂

  7. Ok, I love those shoes – super cute. and, the color pop is very on trend. But, I do think officially the super pointy shoes are no longer the trend.

    At last check – it’s rounded toe with the upper wrapped around the side – you see a lot of that in the Jessica Simpson line.

    You are also seeing a lot of interesting textures and patterns right now. Laces used in strange ways, strappy fabric, animal prints, and other strange prints.

    And, there is this weird thing out there called the “flatform” Think platform shoe without the heel.

    I don’t know. I think pointy was a better trend in many ways so I say go for it!

  8. As long as whatever shoe you are wearing isn’t something so trendy that it belongs to only a certain decade, like say jellies, I think wear what you want! Especially if 1) they aren’t crocs 2) they are as cute as those and 3) they make you feel good.

    I’m working my own fashion resolution this year and if I only wore what was current I’d have like 2 things 🙂

  9. I like them!

    Also, your asterisk totally made me laugh.

  10. Those shoes are cute!

    However… and this may be relevant or totally NOT relevant… but I have a pair of black pumps from the pointy toe era, and I recently tried them on and realized they are vastly old-fashionedy compared to a newer pair of pumps from this year. It was kind of a shock to me, considering the fact that black pumps should be TIMELESS. But I feel dowdy and frumpy in them. (I think it is the lack of that platform type bottom? Doesn’t everything seem to have a platform now?)

    That is not to say that your pointy shoes are in the same boat. And also I wear pajamas and bare feet about 90% of the time, so I am as fashion-clueless as they come. So I guess this is a pointless comment. But I am putting it out there anyway.

  11. If pointy shoes are out, then I don’t want to be in. I love my pointy shoes! (And yours are adorable…LOVE the color.)

  12. toe cleavage is what’s in. but I love me some pointy-toe shoes- especially my burgundy ones with kitten heels. sigh.

  13. I love those shoes and all pointy toed shoes. I say go for it!!

    Right now I’m partial to pointy toed cowboy boots 🙂

  14. those are very very cute
    and the green is interesting but boarders on neutral imo

Comments are closed.

