Time Suck

Well, I’m not sure how to put this for those of you buried under Blizzardpalooza or whatever they’re calling um, alot of snow falling from the sky, but here the sun is shining and I just spent about two hours working in my yard and I got hot and had to quit and come inside and eat a popsicle.  Maybe you could picture my (very high) mortgage payment for my (very small) house and feel better.

Am I the only one who gets super stressed out about my yard?  It seems to absorb ANY amount of work and ALL the money I put into it, and only look sort of ok for a really small amount of time.  Last year I tried to grow dahlias (my one true flower love) in my front border and it was just such a time suck and they always looked wretched, so I just gave up and let Mr. E plant a bunch of miniature citrus in the front and although it’s no exuberant dahlia border, it takes no work whatsoever, which makes me nearly as happy as dahlias would.  But the side yard always looks terrible and the backyard is a disaster, and we still need to clean the whole thing up and remulch or take out mulch and add grass and plant vegetables and scrub the flagstone and move the hydrangeas and add shutters and add a border to the roses and landscape the succulent area and prune the lemon tree and mow the grass and buy lounge furniture and a bench and find something to store dog food in and paint the window boxes and hang petunias and pick up dog poop and patch the garage and OH MY GOD I AM GOING TO HAVE A PANIC ATTACK. And every time I go out there to just do a little bit the hugeness of it all overwhelms me and I feel stabby.

I have neither the time nor the money for this yard.

Please tell me you either know a good place to buy really cheap outdoor furniture, or that you at least feel a similar sense of despair when faced with your back/front/side yard.

I am going to go google iron benches, because if there’s a problem that can’t be solved with cut rate furniture from China I’ve never found it.

 

 

10 Responses

  1. Are you kidding me? We still haven’t even had anyone over to enjoy our backyard because we have no furniture. I mean yes also because it’s winter and all but really — crimony the expense! It’s unreal. Not to mention my garden beds are staring me in the face begging me to figure out what to do with them and I’ll I have done is bookmark pages in the Burpee catalog. It’s a long way from that to my table, you know what I’m saying?

  2. I guess that’s the benefit of living in a city apartment, eh? No yard upkeep! But oh how I miss our rose garden from our San Mateo house…it was so gorgeous! And we went for the overgrown-chic look, so not much tending to 😉

  3. well, here in the desert we have this annoying thing called xeriscape. basically my front yard is a “decorative” version of a large pile of rocks.

    I admit, it makes yard maintenance super easy, however, it looks ugly as sin. i *WISH* i could convince the husband to plant grass…somehow I think it will be easy, all we’d have to do is mow regularly right?

  4. This is why I live in a condo in the city. My husband and I just giggle when our friends talk about having to spend their Saturdays mowing or gardening. Of course, I’m death to plants, and my husband paid to have his yardwork done when he lived in the suburbs, so we’re not really gardening types. We’re walk to the park and enjoy nature then leave it behind types. 🙂

    But I’m impressed with people like you and Maggie and all the planning and work you put into your yards! I hope your landscaping cooperates soon so that you can sit and enjoy the sunshine!

  5. I have to agree, yard work gives me anxiety and it is NEVER DONE. It always has to be redone. It’s like laundry and dishes except with bugs and heat or extreme cold (shoveling). And, you can’t wear or use it. HATE.

  6. We bought our house in October after it had been on the market (empty) for like 8 months. So all through the summer (hot and dry here) it got no water, and no attention other than having the weeds mowed occasionally. And now it’s the middle of winter, so it’s a total disaster and YES. Every time I look at my yard I feel a sense of despair. Especially since we’re probably going to have to scrape the whole top layer of dirt up (too many weeds and rocks to deal with) and then sod. UGH.

  7. spring is a ways off. reading this gave me hives. HATE my yard!

  8. IOW, I am happy for the snow b/c it’s an easy excuse for not doing anything in the pit that is our front, back, and side yards

  9. Don’t underestimate Craigslist. Every time I’ve wanted something very specific, I have found it by being patient. You can even post a “wanted to buy” for a specific style of outdoor furniture. In any case, you have nothing to lose but a little time.

  10. Ditto on craigslist! When we first got a house, and were dead broke, I splurged on a plastic round table from Walmart and 6 plastic chairs ($50 total) to get some place to sit near the sandbox. They lasted 8 years before I finally felt ashamed of my lack of “nice” yard furniture. Found a nice metal/glass table and 4 chairs set at the local consignment place for 150 last summer, after watching for 6 weeks. Patience is rewarded.

Comments are closed.

