They Put Maple Syrup On Pizza, Yes They Do

I have returned from the land of the frozen north.  Oh, did I not tell you I was going to Vermont?  Well, I went to Vermont.

Also, I went snow shoeing.  It was disturbingly fun, but while I was shuffling along I felt this strong need for speed, and I decided I might be an expert skiier just waiting to happen, and also probably I should take up ski jumping, because that seems fun and not at all dangerous. Seriously, it’s been a long time since I did something where I had a smile on my face the entire time, which is what happened while snow shoeing.

Then I returned to my house that is so small that two of us can’t be in the bedroom at one time and I decided I pretty much need to move to Vermont.  Also I am very tired and I bought a coffeemaker.  I mean, christ, I have two children and a husband who can’t get his slippers from the floor to the shoe bin that is less than 12 inches away, I need coffee.  Copious amounts of hot coffee, not lukewarm french press leftovers. Therefore, I have purchased a coffee maker.

Also, I am stealing this idea from Janssen because I find it intriguing…tell me what to read!  Leave the name of a book you think I should read in the comments and I’ll pick one at random and read it and if I don’t like it I will try my best not to hold a massive grudge against you not be mad,  I promise.  Just please know I have already The Girl With the Whatever Whatever and I ain’t readin’ it again.

Thank you all of you out there in blog land. I have missed you. You always put your slippers away, yes you do.

 

28 Responses

  1. Woot! Let Tell Me What to Read spread across the Internet. . .

    You should read Room.

  2. Room is great. I also loved “Before I Fall” (Meangirls meets Groundhog Day!) and have just started “The Book of Lost Things,” which is great so far.

  3. I recently read Steve Martin’s “An Object of Beauty” and really liked it.

  4. I second Room!

    Also, The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind

  5. I just finished two good ones: Bleeding Heart Square and Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet.

  6. YOU’RE BACK! YAY!

    I liked Room a lot. I think it’s fantastic. I also just read Imperfect Birds by my hero Anne Lamott and enjoyed it. Finally, Saving Cee Cee Honeycutt was light and cheery.

    Can we have brunch or something soon?

  7. I don’t even know if I should do this. You won’t like it. Ha! Janssen never picks my book, so I’m going to try and get you to read it. The Magicians by Lev Grossman. Pretty please!!

  8. You may have already read this but I suggest Gods in Alabama.

  9. The Well and the Mine by Gin Phillips. I’m just sayin’.

  10. You see, I think any book I recommend will be a book you have already read (which is also why I never recommend on Janssen’s blog), so I’m going to cheat and recommend one I love but you probably have read, and then one I had never heard of but had to review, and subsequently couldn’t stop thinking of:

    1. A Walk in the Woods by Bill Bryson and
    2. Inheritance by Natalie Danforth (the review book).

  11. Anna and the French Kiss.

  12. i just read “until we’re home’ by Lynn Austin, I think she’s a “christian writer”, so you may have to skip over a few heart on your sleeve missionary moments, but the story was very interesting!

    3 Swedish sisters who immigrate to America during the late 1800’s.

    So, Vermont, did you bring me any maple syrup?

  13. It’s a sort of jr. sci-fi piece, but I recommend Orson Scott Card’s Ender’s Game.

  14. I hesitate to recommend because Jonna hated it and I recommend it to her and I’m not fully recovered but I really did like One Day.

  15. Housekeeping by Marilynne Robinson

  16. Sedaris’s latest “Squirrel Seeks Chipmunk”. I know I know I KNOW. I didn’t think I would like it, but it’s fantastic. Plus you’ll be able to read it beginning to end in about 1 hour, so you won’t have a chance to hate me either way.

  17. I’ll recommend “The Hourglass Door”

  18. The Thursday Next series by Jasper Fforde. Really fun and lots of literary references. (First in the series: The Eyre Affair.)

    Also, the Greek Detective series by Anne Zouroudi. You feel as if you’re in Greece with her vivid description. They’re not full-on crime; more quirky stories somewhat similar to the Alexander McCall Smith books … but better. (First in the series: The Messenger of Athens.)

    The best thing is if you like the first book in each series, there are several more to look forward to! And if you hate them, well, there are a few more books in the world you know to avoid.)

  19. I will give you two choices in my newly favorite category of “life as an experment”:

    The Year of Living Biblically
    or
    The Unlikely Disciple

    Both of them have a religious topic that I thought would make me hate them (avowed athiest here) but they were both funny and fascinating.

    In exchange, I would like a suggestion from you, if you have one. When I get home from my trip I plan to devour tons of books to make up for lost time.

  20. Try the Raw Shark Texts by Steven Hall if you want something totally different from your regular selection but really good.

  21. Anything written from the vampire’s perspective.

  22. The Opposite of Fate by Amy Tan.

    A writer – like you – on her beginnings as a writer and other things.

  23. _Dandelion Wine_ by Ray Bradbury

    I think you’ll be glad you did. 🙂

  24. I am in the middle of reading it and quite enjoying it and since you mention the hubs and his inability to put his slippers away I am going to suggest Marriage and Charity by Kate Braestrup. I can vouch for the first half anyway.

    And if you want on on our co-housing village in VT, let me know. 🙂

  25. I don’t have any suggestions because I have been remiss in reading anything of substance lately but my library list is now very robust…thanks to your readers!

    Glad you had a lovely trip to Vermont!

  26. Luxe

  27. Love Walked In

    And then, when you cry because it’s finished, read the follow-up: Belong to Me.

    (Author Marisa de los Santos)

  28. Don’t let’s go to the dogs tonight – one of my all time faves

Comments are closed.

