Book Review (and a Give Away!): Chocolate & Vicodin

Chocolate & Vicodin by Jennette Fulda

Ok, so first of all I have to tell you that I know the author of this book, Jennette;  I met her at Blogher one year and I’ve been reading her blog FOREVER and I consider her a friend, and so even if this book was stinky, I’d probably not write a review saying it was tres terrible, but luckily that’s not really an issue because I really really liked this book.

Her first book  (Half Assed) was about losing half her body weight, and it was interesting and well written and funny, and I think I  liked this one even better.  It had more soul, somehow.

Anyway, Chocolate and Vicodin is about a headache Jennette woke up with one morning and how it wouldn’t go away and all the things she tried to get rid of it, and how it changed her life, and I found it just…profound. It’s so interesting to see how the unexpected changes someone’s life when they have already worked on changing their own life by with something so controlled like losing lots of weight.  I cannot imagine the challenges she faced, and it was fascinating to read about all the things she tried and where they led her and how she came to a sort of resolution, even without a magic “this is what is wrong with me” answer that she  desperately wanted.

This book was also  funny and well written, Jennette has a snarky unique tone of voice and sense of humor that no one else I know really has, and it makes her writing very real and honest.  And because I’m a blogger and she’s a blogger it was really educational to see the back end of things – to connect times in the book with blog entries she’d written and to see what was really going on at the time and why she was blogging about it or not blogging about it.  You can feel her frustration with the whole “You should try this” advice from every person she meets, and at the same thing you  can’t help it, you’re doing the same thing! You’re thinking to yourself  “She needs to try acupuncture!” (Spoiler:  she does).  Which is another thing I find so fascinating – the endless cycle of advice giving that we just can’t stop ourselves from perpetuating.  We are fixers!  But to be on the other end of that can be so tiring, too.

Chronic pain is just so all consuming.  I never get headaches and I got a terrible headache last week and all I could think about was this book and how if I’d had a headache for years that would not go away about how I would LOSE MY EVER LOVING mind.  How on earth you’d write a book and keep a sense of humor about the whole thing, I have no idea, but I really admire that she made so much out of such a bad situation.

More than anything else, I really just wanted to give Jennette a hug the entire time I was reading it.  It was just so raw and sad and vulnerable and unfair.  Poor girl.

Anyway, I really liked it.  I think you should read it too! And if you leave me a comment on this blog telling me you’d like to read it  I will randomly pick someone to win their very own copy. (Or alternatively you can buy it here, at Amazon).

P.S. The publisher sent me a copy for free, but no one asked me for anything besides a request to write something about the book.

34 Responses

  1. My 10 month old has started to walk, and also realized she can crawl up the stairs.
    She is my energizer bunny. I need something to keep me charged!

  2. Oh yes, I would indeed like to read it.

  3. Oooh, I’m dying to know how she deals with it in the end. Cliffhanger! 🙂

  4. I would love to read this book!

  5. It looks like something I would definitely be interested in reading!

  6. I’d love to read this. Putting on my wishlist right now.

  7. I’d love to read the book! I read her first book before the Blathering and enjoyed it (I’m assuming she didn’t come to the Blathering because she moved?)

  8. Would totally love to read this.

  9. Anything with “chocolate” in the title is usually a guaranteed like from me!

    Speaking of books, did you read my Tweet to you about Matched? SO disappointed with that one, even though I’d read your review when I was just halfway done with it. I had such high hopes!

  10. I’d love to read it! I get migraines, and sometimes I think I am losing my mind from them.

  11. Ewwww, vicodin. I’m a nurse and I will tell you that from a pain managment perspective vicodin really isn’t that great, unless you want to kill your liver. But what do I know, pain meds just make me throw up and then take a nap. But I sure would love a copy of this book!

  12. I’d love to read it: thanks for the chance!

  13. I’d love to read it! I’m checking my library right now to see if they have it!

  14. I would love to read it even though reading books you recommend is somewhat chancy!

  15. Thanks for the great review, Elizabeth! I’m glad you enjoyed the book.

    @Jessica – I was bummed to miss the Blathering. I used to live in Indianapolis, so it would have been an easy drive. But after I moved, I decided to buy a bed and a couch instead of a plane ticket to Chicago.

  16. Yes, please!

    Also: do you have Half-Assed?

  17. I would love to read it! In fact, whether or not I win here, I WILL read it.

  18. The title alone grabbed me . . .

  19. I have chronic headaches….and as of today am on week 2 of EVERY DAMN DAY.

    Obvs I need to read this book.

  20. Oh yes please. Otherwise, it will go on my reserve list at the library!

  21. ohhh, sounds interesting. Will definitely put it on my library list. I always enjoy hearing what you think of books. Makes me laugh 🙂

  22. Aww, I love her. I’ve been reading her blog off and on for years. She’s awesome!

  23. This sounds awesome. Not in the least because I am always so in AWE of people who turn their hardships into something beautiful for other people to enjoy and/or benefit from.

    I have a friend who would really enjoy this – in fact, I just sent it to her via Amazon.

  24. I love her blog and I get migraines so I would love to read her book!

  25. […] 28: Princess Nebraska Mar 1: Shauna’s Life in Pain Mar 2: Drummer Heather Mar 3: Emergiblog Mar 4: Jenny […]

  26. @Raven – Sorry to hear about your chronic daily headache! It is definitely the suck.

    And thanks to everyone who said they’re going to pick up a copy. I appreciate the support!

  27. I have really liked everything you’ve recommended, so I’d love to read it. I’ll probably grab a Kindle copy regardless – and Half Assed sounds great, too!

  28. i would love to read it 🙂

  29. I trust your opinion on books so I would love to read this!

  30. Definitely would love to read this!

  31. I love Jeanette too, and in fact, I found your blog through her blog a few years ago. Craziness! I’d love to read her latest, I have a lot of respect for her writing.

  32. Would love to add this to my reading list. Interested in how it ends.

  33. I love reading Jeanette’s blog. I cannot wait to read the new book.

  34. […] 21.  Chocolate and Vicodin. See my review here. […]

Comments are closed.

