What I’m Going to Read: Round One

Here’s the suggestions I got for what I should read this month.  (I am very excited to have such a good reading list!)

1. Room

2. Before I Fall

3. The Book of Lost Things

4.  An Object of Beauty

5.  Room (again)

6.  The Who Harnessed the Wind

7.  Bleeding Heart Square

8.  Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet

9.  Imperfect Birds

10.  Saving Cee Cee Honeycutt

11.  The Magicians

12.  Gods In Alabama

13.  The Well and the Mine

14.  A Walk in the Woods

15.  Inheritance

16.  Anna and the French Kiss

17.  Until We’re Home

18.  Ender’s Game

19.  One Day

20.  Housekeeping

21.  Squirrel Seeks Chipmunk

22.  The Hourglass Door

23.  The Thursday Next Series (Starting with the Eyre Affair)

24.  The Messenger of Athens

25.  The Year of Living Biblically

26.  The Unlikely Disciple

27.  Raw Shark Texts

28.  The Opposite of Fate

29.  Dandelion Wine

30.  Luxe

31.  Love Walked In

Of this list, I have already read:

Before I Fall

Saving Cee Cee Honeycutt

Gods in Alabama

One Day

Dandelion Wine

and Luxe

so I eliminated those.

I asked Eli to pick a number between 1 and 31 and he chose 31 (could have seen that coming, probably) and so I am reading Love Walked In.

Review to follow!

 

12 Responses

  1. Read Room and Squirrel seeks Chimpmunk back to back. You will need something light after Room. Room was uncomfortably disturbing at times but a very gripping read.

  2. The Book of Lost Things is one of my favorite books ever!

  3. I didn’t make any suggestions before because I was so sure that I’d submit something you’ve already read…but now that I see it on the list of things you haven’t read, I’d like to second “Ender’s Game”

  4. Just a note..number 6 should be the BOY who harnessed the wind..in case i mistold you last time! 🙂

  5. I have Room waiting for me on my Kindle 🙂

  6. I really liked Room but what bothered me about it was that it was written by an Irish woman who lives in Canada… and it was supposedly set in the USA. There were many discrepancies about the location that an editor should have caught- like we don’t eat fish curry here for lunch- things like that. So it was really good but that aspect of it bothered me. I will be interested to hear what you think!

  7. I have read Love Walked In, and it’s one of my favorites of the past few years. So good. I’m currently reading One Day (loving thus far), though I have Gods in Alabama on my nightstand and Room, Before I Fall, plus The Evolution of Bruno Littlemore, A Secret Kept, The Invisible Bridge, Delta Girls, and the Laura Ling/Euna Lee story all on my Kindle thanks to birthday presents from my in-laws! Similar tastes it seems–no surprise there =)

  8. Oh, read the Thursday Next series! I just adored these books – funny and intellectual and literary all at once. As a Brit, they strike me as absolutely British in feel and I’ll be interested to see what an American take on them is (so much of the absurdity is local; the war with Wales, Swindon as a hub of intellectual activity… I’m finding it hard to imagine how that can be understood if you don’t know Britain…). But they’re wonderful books, and totally addictive… the new one is due out soon and I’m soooo impatient!

  9. … and then you should write a book about how you let the Internet shape your reading list! I have a hunch that word of mouth from people that know your tastes is the best way to find things to read.

  10. I figured you’d already Gods in Alabama. Sadly, though, i think it’s the last book I have read that I could remember thinking was good. I really need to read more. And clean more. And play with the kids more. And and and…. I suppose cutting out evening TV would help get these things done!

  11. I love the Thursday Next series.

    And you have to add “Dont Lets Go to the Digs Tonight”

  12. Oh yay, that was my recommendation. I hope you love it.

Comments are closed.

