I Don’t Know How He Does It

While we were all in Chicago for the Blathering, the always and ever amazing Phillip Cheung wrote Maggie an adorable surprise post on her blog, with lots of “I don’t know how she does it’s” and we all gathered round and read it and talked about wonderful it was.

I’m about two minutes away from walking out the door to spend some quality time with my internet besties, and I’m not gonna lie, while I was blow drying my hair I plotted nefarious schemes for how I could get MY husband to write me a secret surprise blog post while I was gone, all about how fantastic I am and how cute our kids are and how he doesn’t know how I do it.  Because let’s be honest, if I was gonna get one of those, I would have to orchestrate it.

And oh my god, you guys? I really am the worst person on earth.  Because my husband is spending FIVE DAYS taking care of two kids by himself.  One kid who won’t eat and who has to go to the doctor this morning, and one kid who won’t sleep and is keeping us up all night long every night, and he’s doing it without making me feel bad or weird or stressed and when I asked if I could go he didn’t hesitate, just emailed me back and said “I don’t have a problem with it”, and I can’t remember the last time he took a vacation and here I am trying to figure out how to get MORE out of him at the same time as I am leaving him with this menagerie of sleeplessness and this is just to say that truly?

I don’t know how he does it.  But I sure do love him for it.

7 Responses

  1. I love this post. It’s the story of my life.

  2. I’m sort of laughing a little bit because I’d be stunned dead if Mike figured out how to even sign into my blog, let alone create a new post.

    But, yes, I don’t know how he does all he does, either.

    MERE HOURS BETWEEN YOU AND ME.

  3. Lovely post- your husband sounds like a keeper, for sure.

    Can’t wait to have dim sum with you on Saturday! And to give you a big hug for dealing with this non-eating kid thing. It is SO hard. Safe travels!

  4. Yep. I vacillate between wanting extreme displays of gratitude and feeling some serious gratitude of my own. I always wish he’d see all the little things I do for our family, so I guess I ought to look hard for all the little things he does for us, too.

  5. this post ROCKS elizabeth!!
    i think sometimes in the blogging world we get real wrapped up in ourselves. (pot calling kettle black here)

    I love that you took a step back and really saw the big picture! You too are amazing and I am sure deserve a post from your hubby about what a great mom and wife you are, but I LOVE that you can put that aside and see how awesome your husband is right now!

  6. Well, it’s true hon — I really DON’T know how you do it all! Because after today? Whew! It’s not that they were bad, it was just that.. they never stopped…

    Although, like Jennie said above… I’d be more likely to invent cold fusion than to figure out how to sign on to your blog and leave a post…

  7. I love everything about this. Including the comment from Mr. E.

Comments are closed.

