Don’t Forget Me When I’m Gone

Ok, so tomorrow I have to wake up at some ridiculous hour and take two children from here (California) to there (Vermont).  BY MYSELF.  Please say a prayer, or ten thousand, for us, and let’s all hope that United Airlines takes pity on our souls.

And then we’ll be there for three and a half weeks, but Mr. E will come join us in two weeks and thank heavens to betsy he will be there to fly home with us.

The good news is that once we get to Vermont, we’ll be in Vermont. I don’t know if I have mentioned that my parents abandoned life in the burbs of Chicago for life in a tiny town in Vermont, and while I am not at all certain that I am ready to follow suit, to bid adieu to Target and the mall and indian food, I can tell you that summer in Vermont is pretty awesome, especially when you are four years old.  My parents have a canoe and bees and a garden and an antique ride on fire truck and we are going to go fishing and swimming and play baseball on the common and get milk from cows and learn how to collect the eggs from the chickens and eat all the root beer floats we can hold.

I’m not sure I’m doing a good job of describing just how Vermonty this is, but picture the most stereotypical New England town you can, and that’s it.  There’s a white church and a baseball diamond and granny’s rambly 200 year old house sits right on the common and just yesterday the famous author who lives three doors down came over to tell my mother that she has the best view in the state of Vermont and there’s a screened in porch and hanging baskets of petunias and it’s pretty much heaven on earth.

Except for the whole “no Target” thing.

My grandparents had their own farm in a tiny town in Vermont, back in the day, and I have the best memories of my summers spent there, and I am just beyond thrilled that my kids are going to get to spend summer in Vermont too.  It could not be more different than where are from, that old house on the common, that view, and I think that’s maybe what makes it extra special.

I am really not looking forward to the plane ride, but I remain absolutely convinced that it is worth it, ten thousand times over.

See you on the flip side.

 

 

 

13 Responses

  1. I think I need to know who this famous author is, because I lived next to TWO in VT, and only later figured out that the one across the hall from me was, in fact, a famous author and not a lawyer like I originally thought. Oops. Obviously I wasn’t a fan.

  2. Sounds blissful! I hope you have an amazing time — though you will certainly be missed! Let’s get together when you back!

  3. That really does sound like heaven. Enjoy!

  4. Need to adopt some Vermont grandparents. ..

  5. That sounds like an awesome summer. Wish I could go, too!

  6. that sounds awesome! good luck with the flights – oy.

  7. bon voyage and may the airplane gods smile on thee!

  8. oh elizabeth, i know how you feel. nothing puts me into “soilder” mode like flying ALONE with kids. I feel like I have to put on armor and tough my way through it. *shudder*

    wishing that the airplane Gods smile down on you from 36,000 feet!

  9. Have a great time! I will think good airline karma thoughts for you today.

  10. Hi lady….Hope everything works out tomorrow after this nonsense today. You are a wonderful mother and daughter for taking on the logistical nightmare of a cross country trek. My mom used to do this with us when we were kids too, and it was the same idea, our dad would join later on in the vacation. Looking back I don’t know how she did it, but I’m glad she did. Memories and such right? GOOD LUCK. Hopefully your mom has wine waiting for you. 🙂

  11. I hope that you are there by now, and on behalf of the entire metro DC area, I apologize for our stormy summer weather. Having dealt with Pat Leahy and his staff of the Judiciary Committee, I hold kind of a personal grudge against the state of Vermont, but I have to admit that it sounds pretty darn idyllic. I truly hope you have three-plus glorious weeks to make up for the hell of getting there.

  12. Except for the plane-ride part, that sounds like heaven. I’ve never been to New England, but this plan sounds like everything I’d want to do in New England… except you’ve left off “Visit a Cranberry Bog”. If you happen upon one, will you enjoy it for me? 😉 I hope you have a fabulous time! We’ll miss you!!! 🙂

  13. You know I live in Brattleboro right? And am a VT native. So I’m partial….. But I agree with you! We fly via Hartford airport. So sorry the trip was so horrible! But today’s weather was perfect and we picked two flats of strawberries!

Comments are closed.

