Things I am Thinking About Cooking On Vacation In Michigan When I Will Have Aprox. 17 People To Eat My Food

…instead of the three uninterested people I usually have around.

That pasta with the bacon that Maggie makes.  (Um, Maggie, can you send me the recipe for the pasta with the bacon?)

The Blathering Sesame Noodle Salad

Heather’s orange rolls

Hilltop ranch dressing

Blueberry cake

Smores Nachos

 

Ice Cream Sandwich Cake (layer ice cream sandwiches with oreos, whipped cream, and chocolate fudge)

The Best Ever Easiest Chocolate Cake (take one duncan hines cake mix, bake, frost with sour cream chocolate frosting)

Reeses Peanut Butter Cupcakes or Peanut Butter Truffles

my favorite dutch apple pie

Homemade Girl Scout Cookie Bars

This is what happens when I have nothing to sand or paint.

Anyone else got any crowd pleasers I should make?  Lay ’em on me.

 

 

10 Responses

  1. Bruschetta! Easy and easy to make as much or little as you want (and yummy with fish or chicken the next day if leftovers)

  2. Someday I hope I will be crafty and creative like you but ALAS I FEAR NOT. I will always be an unadventurous nerd, eating cereal for dinner while I read. LAYMEEEE. (That’s “lame.” Not “lay me.”) (Just to be clear.)

    Erica (from PDH) posted a recipe for cashew chicken rolls a few months back that Lauren has made approximately one million times since then and they are SO GOOD.

  3. This is funny because I haven’t made any decisions about the brunch menu this weekend because I keep thinking: FIVE PEOPLE TO COOK FOR…WOO HOO…MAKE SOMETHING AWESOME YOU WOULDN’T NORMALLY MAKE…and then my brain shuts down from looking at all my bookmarks.

  4. Oreo Truffles: One bag oreos, smashed. One block of cream cheese, softened. Mix together, roll into balls, freeze for 30 minutes, then dip in chocolate. You will thank me.

  5. This: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ina-garten/orzo-with-roasted-vegetables-recipe/index.html Once again, Lauren made it (with zucchini and yellow squash substituted for the eggplant) and it was awesome. Lauren is either very brave or has an excellent eye for great recipes.

  6. Reese Peanut Butter cupcakes- I WANT.

  7. I have a recipe for gorgonzola cheesecake, that is in a word, amazing. I’ve had married men propose because of it. I’d be happy to send the recipe if you’re interested. (not a dessert cheesecake, more of a snacky appetizer cheesecake).

  8. I’m going to Michigan for vacation too and the meal planning has started… unfortunately I have to plan gluten free stuff for my mom so that is a challenge. But I’m looking forward to Michigan blueberries and peaches to bake with!!!!

    We are heading there in two weeks- Leelenau peninsula- wondering where you are headed?

  9. Road trip (by me!) to the U.P. or where will y’all be, in MI? Just looked up the orange rolls AND the s’more nachos. Yummmm!! I don’t have someone in my household who has a BIG sweet tooth, but I may just have to make a mini-version of the nachos just for me. Thanks for sharing! (Don’t want to share my info with WordPress, so guess I will have to be a Guest.) — Jim’s cousin Jessi

  10. When is this vacation and HOW DO I GET INVITED?!? All that food sounds AMAZING!!

Comments are closed.

