House Tour: Entry Way

I finished a room! The rest of my house is a disaster and this is all I’ve been doing for two days and it’s not actually done and I haven’t taken a shower yet today and I smell terrible and it’s the smallest room in my house but I finished a room!

Here’s a before:

And here’s my inspiration picture, which I’ve had saved for ages, and I have no idea where it came from because I’m a jerk.  It’s the perfect blend of old/new, funky/new, antiquey/modern, and I’ve never seen an entryway I’ve loved so much.

Source: None via Elizabeth on Pinterest

And here’s an after at my house:

We have nowhere near enough room for a chair, or for room for much of anything but a skinny table, but I am so glad we have this space.  I have a really hard time arranging furniture and figuring out function in a house where you walk straight in, so an entrywas was one of my “must haves” when we were house hunting.

You might notice that the door is not actually all the way painted. It probably needs about three more coats, but after I realized that it was actually an interior door, I decided to quit painting it.  When I get a new door, it will be this same color.

I looked for an entry table FOREVER.  I wanted one with a shelf and a drawer that didn’t cost a million dollars, and I wanted something that was sort of generic in style.  Man, I almost bought some god awful entry tables.  This one is from Cost Plus and it’s basically the perfect table.

I am embarrassed to tell you how long it took me to figure out what to put on this stupid table.  I have this problem where I tend to choose one or two colors and then I STICK TO THOSE COLORS NO MATTER WHAT.  So pretty soon every damn thing in this room was yellow or red, and it just got weird.  I am totally in awe of people who can make bits of bright yellow or bits of bright pink work because that is so not me.

Finally I stared at Pinterest for awhile and determined that most of the successful entry tables were a combination of stacks of books, a plant, and maybe a lamp.  The entry is not wired for electricity (so annoying, but the electrician claimed it would be a GIANT project) so the lamp was out, and this is what I came up with.

The mirror on the left is from a garage sale, although I painted it white and added the bird.  I know, I have a lot of birds, put a bird on it, blah blah blah, but guess what? I LIKE BIRDS, SO SUE ME.

The plant and pot were on super sale at Home Depot, I think together they cost $8, and they make the whole thing work, imho.  That’s my garage sale glass bottle down there, along with an old locker bin from Ebay.  We use that bin for the shoes that will otherwise end up all over the house.  That crazy sea urchin thing is another one of my favorite possessions, Mr. E gave it to me one year for Christmas, I believe you can get them on Etsy still.

The little oil painting was also thrifted, I got a lot of crazy looks from various members of my family when I bought it, but I love it.  I’ve had my eye out for tiny oil paintings ever since but I never see them.  The other framed thing reads “Hello Fantastic” – it’s actually two cards and it’s one of the first things I bought for the house. I like how you can barely read it and have to sort of peer in to see what it says.

I wish I had painted the window first thing when we moved in, a few coats of white paint made such a huge difference.  This is the only original wood window in the house, and I am so grateful that it wasn’t removed along with all the rest.  To me it’s like this little “I’m still here!” note from the soul of the house.

I found a box of these glass doorknobs at a garage sale for $1.  Not each, total.  I spray painted over all the brass bits, and then I discovered why they were $1 at a garage sale – there’s no real way to attach them to the door.  This one is held on with a wish and a prayer.  I hate these godawful hollow core doors, but “replace all the doors with real wood” is pretty low on the list of house stuff we want to throw money at.

I’ve still got some spackled holes to repaint after I lowered all the art, as ordered by Ab Chao.

The map print was a gift, it’s from the town where Erik grew up in the middle of nowhere.

This light is one of my favorite things in my house.  I found it a garage sale for a quarter, and took off the weird netting and cleaned it up and spraypainted the rusty chain and we wired it in.  I am going to paint the ceiling circle white and add a ceiling medallion around the top.  Erik and I have a running argument where I complain about the ugly ass curly light bulbs that  he insists on putting in it.

I’ve never been that thrilled with the wall color, but I tried so many and none of them were ever right, and this is close enough.  In a lot of lights, I actually like it, but in certain lights it goes to a very orangey flesh bandaid color.  Erik is very tired of hearing about it.

Oh, I almost forgot, here’s the closet floor.  The paint color is Martha Stewart “Lagoon”. I still kind of wish the floor was gold, but I like how this turned out a lot.  Let’s just pretend it doesn’t sort of look like a roller rink floor, ok? Great.

We used to have a giant bin full of random crap sitting on the floor of the closet and no one could ever find anything.  This shoe holder thing works a lot better, and we use it to hold everything from vacuum cleaner bags to hats.  They are super cheap ($6.75) at Home Depot.

I think that’s it! Stay tuned for the next finished room, sometime in 2013.

14 Responses

  1. Oooooh, I LOVE it! 😉

  2. OHMYGOSH!!! It’s SO BEAUTIFUL!!! Where do I start?? First: I love yellow entry halls. I’m required to because I’ve repainted mine in different shades of yellow twice now. Having lots of yellow experience, I can expertly tell you that: no shade of yellow is good in all lights. Yours is perfect. 🙂
    The glass knob. I die.
    The entire styling of that fabulous table. Ohmygoodnessgracious.
    You are amazing. I’m in love with your entry.

  3. I think it looks fantastic! My favorite parts are the Hello Fantastic and the blue floor. It looks warm and inviting and cheery. You nailed it 🙂

  4. So pretty pretty pretty.

  5. Very pretty!! I want your Orla Kiely bag!!

  6. It looks awesome. My only thought is that will one of your kids break the glass bottle? I ask because on of MY kids certainly would, accidentally of course.

  7. Looks great! I especially love the garage sale glass bottle on the bottom shelf.

  8. red door! RED DOOR!
    We are hurriedly packing up our house because we’ll be renting it out while we’re gone for the Fall semester, but new (RED) front door is on the to-do list as soon as we get back.
    I love your eye, as usual. My Pinterest should just be a link to all your photos. If that wasn’t, you know, stalky.

  9. Looks so great! And the shoe holder thing, duh, WHY have I not thought of that for our obnoxious entry closet??? Genius.

  10. Just lovely! In fact, this has inspired me to finish painting our front door. I love that you brought the red all the way around. Love, love, love!!!

  11. Just wow.

  12. I want you to come to Nebraska and help me figure out how to de-uglify my house and organize it for me. Except I don’t want you to see how dirty and ugly and disorganized my house is. Can I drug you either before, during or especially after?

  13. Must get you to come do my entire apartment.

  14. How geeky am I? Saw your inpiration pic, and knew instantly where it was from. I love it too. It’s from Jackie at Avocado & Papaya, but the home tour (and your inspiration pic) is here:

    http://morewaystowastetime.blogspot.com/2008/12/house-voyeur-bright-and-bold-in.html

    Nice job on your entry!

Comments are closed.

