Deep Thoughts at 4 A.M.

When your three day old baby will only sleep if she is lying on you, with her head jammed right up into your neck, you practically welcome it, because you know how fast this stage passes, and you want to appreciate it while it lasts.  But when that very same baby is 14 months old and will only sleep if she is lying on you with her head jammed right up into your neck, you find yourself thinking “Seventeen more years and this will be her college roommates’ problem.”  And you have 100% less appreciation for the situation.

Things I was hoping to get done this week, but which are now appearing to be a trifle optimistic:

1.  The hallway trim

2. the dining room ceiling medallion

3. painting and installing the shoe molding and the floor patch in the living room

4. the dining room trim

5. the new fabric on the china cabinet glass

6.  the last of the pulls for the kids dresser

7.  patching the weird gap in the dining room

8.  mailing some shit to some people

9.  move the railing out of the living room

10.  hang the new picture of Katie in the hallway

Sometimes this house is so frustrating – it feels like we’re working so hard just to restore it to normal, or fine.  Someday I’d like to work really hard to make something really great, instead of just how it should have been to begin with.

Regardless, I can barely type I am so tired, and I must go contemplate the dubious decision I recently made to change the paint color of the dining room to “Holy crap, is that…purple?” to “My, what a lovely communist bunker!”

 

4 Responses

  1. #8 – ughh. The worst is that when it’s done I always tell myself it wasn’t even hard. And yet it’s the sort of thing that can sit on a to do list forever.

  2. what color is the typical communist bunker?

  3. This made me giggle: “Seventeen more years and this will be her college roommates’ problem.”

    I hate that feeling of Long List with No Time. Hopefully you’ll find time for more of your tasks than you’re anticipating.

Comments are closed.

