Pot

So my beloved blue Martha Stewart fake Le Creuset recently got recalled.

It’s really too bad because it was a truly gorgeous color.

Anyway, I would never even have known about this recall except that the other day I was heating up the pot in the oven to make No Knead bread, and unbeknownst to me the plastic basket of the salad spinner was sitting inside the pot, and it melted into a pool of nasty horrible smelling goo inside the pot and ruined it.  I went to go see how much replacing the thing was going to cost and I couldn’t find any for sale on the Macy’s web site and then it turned out it was because they all got recalled.

I guess it’s sort of shady for me to return it for a refund after I ruined it, but it did get recalled, after all.  I don’t know, is that shady?  Ah well.

I thought I would blog the experience because this is the kind of thing I am always curious about – were they weird in the store? How do you return a used pot without the receipt?  How does that even work?

First I called the number listed in the recall and they knew right away what I was talking about, and they told me just to take it into Macy’s, to the Home Department, and since I didn’t have a receipt they would give me the average of the cost of the pot over the time it had been sold, as store credit.

This morning I took the pot downtown (since the Macy’s at the mall doesn’t have a home store which is a constant source of irritation but whatever) and plopped it on the counter at the Home Department.  The woman working at the counter knew just what I was talking about, although she did have to look around a bit for the paperwork she needed.  We guessed at the size by comparing it to other pots for sale since the credit you got depended on the size and I didn’t remember what size it actually was. Not having a receipt was no problem whatsoever, they had explicit instructions for what to do in that case, and I ended up with a refund of $65 dollars and change.  They gave it to me on a gift card, swiped my drivers’s license, and that was it.  She did look inside the pot (where the real damage from the plastic was) but no one made any comment on the condition of the pot.

Thank goodness I had Mr. E with me because otherwise I would have had NO idea what to get with my $66 credit.  They don’t have enameled cast iron pots for sale anymore, having apparently learned their lesson the first time around.  I entertained the idea of silverware, or sheets, but I wasn’t impressed with any of the offerings they had on display. I looked through all the Martha stuff and nothing blew my mind except an amazingly lovely white cake stand, but I need another cake stand like I need a hole in my head.  I looked at place mats and napkins and mixing bowls and cereal bowls, but nothing really stood out to me.

The fiscally responsible thing to do would have been to save my credit and to use it to buy someone a Christmas present this year, but the original pot had been a gift to me and the thought of having to use my present to buy something for someone else was just too depressing.  What I really wanted was a pepper grinder, but I didn’t like any of their pepper grinders, and then I considered just coming home and ordering silverware online, but in the end I went back to a lovely yellow Le Creuset pot that caught my eye on my first circuit through the kitchen stuff.  It’s enameled steel, instead of cast iron, but it’s a nice size and it nests in the large pot I already own, which the Martha Stewart one wouldn’t do, which was really annoying. And I kind of like that it doesn’t weigh a million pounds, to be honest. I mostly used the old blue pot for baking bread and it was always a little bit too spread out, the bread, and so I am hoping this one, which is taller and has higher sides, will make a nice high roundish loaf.  Plus the color was fabulous, and it was almost the same price as the credit I had.

So there you go. One pot out, one pot in.

Le Creuset Enamel-on-Steel 6-Quart Covered Stockpot, Dijon

 

 

 

8 Responses

  1. Beautiful! Sounds like an excellent trade.

    I don’t think it’s shady to return the pot after you melted the colander in it. I’d feel differently, I guess, if you ruined the pot and then took it back BECAUSE you’d ruined it… But in this case, the pot was recalled anyway, no one else is going to use it, and… yeah, not shady in the least.

  2. I don’t think its shady. How about if you bought a new thermostat last month, and then yesterday it stopped working–not the wired part but just the front. You go to Home Depot and buy the same one, replace the front part that’s not working….can you return the old front with the new back? Say, I’m returning this because its not working?

    That’s my current ethical dilemna. I think its fine, since I just bought the damn thing last month but no longer have the receipt to the old one. My husband says its not ethical. Feel free to weigh in 🙂

    Do you make gluten free bread? (Do I remember correctly that your son is gluten-allergic?) I bought a breadmaker two weeks ago and have been making bread for my nut-allergic son (lots of breads are produced in facilities that also produce nut breads). He is eh to the homemade bread, but I have put on 3 lbs.

  3. It’s nice to know that Macy’s was cool about the whole process. Recalled items are usually treated differently than normal returns, but you never know if the salesperson is still going to give you attitude about it. FYI – If you’re ever looking for another Dutch Oven & don’t want to pay the Le Creuset price, I LOVE the red Tramontina I found at Walmart.com. It’s not the most amazing quality, but it has been fantastic for caramel, soups, & stews. And I figure that if (when) I do chip it, I’m not going to be $300 upset, just $39 upset.

  4. This is good to know seeing as I have that exact same pot. I wouldn’t normally go running into Macys to return it even if it had been recalled but recently that pot has been REALLY sticking and being irritating and taking forever to clean and Garrett wants to get rid of it but I am totally romanced by the robin’s egg blue so I can let it go. So is THAT shady if I return it? Plus I bought it back in 2008 and ended up paying about $24 for it because of a promotion they were having (I only remember because I had been hemming and hawing about it forever that to buy it for $24 felt like such a boon!) I don’t know if I could go in there and keep a straight face while taking so much money back for it. OR COULD I? 😉 Hmmmm…

    I can hardly return things when they are faulty. My palms sweat and I have to psyche myself up for it. This will be a real experiment…

    • Well supposedly parts of it could like, fly off and lacerate your face. However I will warn you that they have no cast iron enameled pots unless you want to pay one million dollars for a Le Creuset, so you will get a big Macy’s credit but you’ll be out a cast iron enameled pot.

  5. I love my enameled pot that my mother-in-law gave me for Christmas a few years ago. It’s not QUITE as lovely as your RIP Martha Stewart one, but it’s nice. And only $50 http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000N501BK?ie=UTF8&tag=everydayreadi-20&linkCode=shr&camp=213733&creative=393185&creativeASIN=B000N501BK&redirect=true&ref_=pd_lpo_k2_dp_sr_3

    • If I do get another cast iron pot, I am totally getting that one. In green! Unfortunately they don’t have that at Macy’s, so I couldn’t just get that one instead of the one I had.

  6. Thanks for this, I had no idea! I will be bringing back my tomato red Martha pot. That thing got so stained from making chicken stock, it was ridiculous. And I am too lazy to put bleach in it or whatever.

Comments are closed.

