Books I Read On My Kindle In August, September, and Part of October

136.  Q A Timeless Love Story.  I liked the writing and the storyline but the plot device (he lives his life over and over again, trying to fix it each time, by going back in time) got away from itself.

137.  Also Known As Rowan Pohi.  Not terrible, not great. It felt really really short? And sort of derivative of the work of Gary D. Schmidt, which I would rather read anyway.

138.  Blood Bones and Butter. I liked it, but I didn’t LOVE it.  I needed more about how she went from being a waitress to being an amazing chef.  And it made me feel really inferior with my cottage cheese lasagna and my Target sandwich bread.  AND she describes a scene involving a dead rat that’s one of the grossest things I’ve ever read.  But man did it ever make me want to eat my way through Italy.

139.  Gravy.  This was a romance novel, what can I say? It’s…interesting if you read the author’s personal blog, which is the only reason I bought it.

140.  Like Water for Elephants.  The only thing that saved this book for me was the actually very compelling parts about the circus.  Other than that I had NO foundation for why these two people fell in love and I kept having to imagine them as the actors in the movie just to imbue them with some personality in my mind.

141.  Forever.  This is the third book in that Wolves of Whatever Series, I am sure you can google it if you can want but I only have a short amount of time before my child loses interest in that damn cat piano so I am not going to bother.  Anyway.  The first book was ok.  Entertaining if not overwrought.  The second book was saved by Cole and his girlfriend, whose name I also cannot remember, because everyone else was so annoying it wasn’t even funny.  The third book was saved by no one and was just dreck. Boring dreck.

142.  The Twisted Thread.  I liked this, although the mystery was sort of not really a mystery.  But I liked the characters and the writing.

143.  Before I Go To Sleep.  I didn’t like this as much as I thought I would.  Everyone in it gave me a pain after awhile.

Well, that’s not as many Kindle books as I thought it would be. I have SO MANY ARC’s on my Kindle, but they don’t have to be returned to the library, so I often don’t get around to reading them, because the stack of books that has to go back or else is more compelling.  My list of new stuff I want to read is dwindling though, so I’m going to try to get through some more Kindle stuff before the end of the  year.   I have two and half months to read 37 books though, so I better get cracking.

Read any good books lately?  Do tell.

5 Responses

  1. Well. I barely made it through the second book of the Wolves of Whatever series so I will cross “Forever” off my list, um, forever.

    Recent good reads, “The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake”, “The Grief of Others” and “Maine”. All good novels that I’d recommend.

  2. I’ve been on a Jane Austen kick lately — Mansfield Park, Persuasion and now Northanger Abbey — but last month I read and really loved “Tiger, Tiger,” a memoir by Margeaux Fragoso, and “Sister,” a novel by Rosamund Lupton.

  3. I really liked Blood, Bones, & Butter until the last 1/3 of the book. It felt like the story moved from chef, restaurant owner, all of which was fascinating, to the creepy relationship with her husband.

    I’m reading Slammekin by Emma Donoghue and it is such a vivid read. Not my type of book at all yet the scenes are so realistic I can’t put it down.

  4. I do this at my own peril, but I loved, loved, loved The Mysterious Benedict Society, so I’m putting it out there that you should read it (I searched your site and it doesn’t look like you’ve blogged about it). I’m also reading The Beekeeper’s Apprentice, which I didn’t think I would like, but I’m totally enjoying thanks to my Sherlock Holmes obsession of 2010. This is completely at my peril. If you read them and hate them, feel free to blame me!!

    • I forgot to put my NGS disclaimer on all the books I loved! But don’t read them! I haven’t read either of those books so I am going to read them. AT MY OWN RISK. 🙂

Comments are closed.

