Booty Call

Ok, people, I need your help.

For Christmas, from Mr. E, I am asking for a pair of boots. A MYTHICAL pair of boots, it would appear, although you’d think it wouldn’t be that hard.  So here’s what I want:

Real leather, brown, and easy on and easy off, so I can just throw them on and off really easily as I run in and out of the house.  Preferably with no weird laces or buckles, and I’d rather have a pull on style or a side zipper if I can get away with it. Warm because my feet are very cold, so I’m thinking shearling lined? Not slippery on the bottom, and also they need to be waterproof because it’s going to rain for the next five months.  Not too tall but not short, either. And cute! They need to be cute.

I was eyeing these from LL Bean, but I’m worried they’re too clunky and the bottoms will be slippery.  Although I really enjoy the preppy 1955 plaid shirt vibe they’re giving me…

Anyone got any super cute awesome boots they’re loving? Or suggestions of place to go shop that don’t involve me fending off the hordes at REI?

11 Responses

  1. Those LL Bean boots would keep your feet incredibly warm and dry, but they are definitely NOT easy on/easy off. The laces! I hate having to tie up the laces when I’m trying to herd the children and hold forty-five bags. But the faux-shearling LL Bean ones without laces are also awesome. And the faux shearling is probably not as warm as shearling, but I would think it’s warm enough for Sacramento? I don’t know how cold it gets in Sacramento, but you’re growing lettuce now, so I’m assuming it’s colder here. The lack of laces steal a little of the 1950s vibe, though.

  2. Just realized the ones you linked to are leather and my alternative are nylon, and therefore fail to meet your requirements. But still, consider the laces.

  3. Hunter Wellies? They are not shearling lined, but they are they are cute and come in many colors and definitely keep the feet dry.

    My favorite pair of boots are a $22 pair from Target, that have fuzzy felt inside. They are not “cute”, and sometimes they eat my socks, but they keep my feet warm and dry, are easy on/off, and the calves are large enough to tuck my pants. Target sells them every year.

  4. I have these and I adore them. They are easy on, off, super warm and sort of cute, too. http://www.flickr.com/photos/rockingthesuburbs/3041414489/in/set-72157608567168642

  5. I don’t know about those particular boots, but I have loved everything I’ve gotten from LL Bean. They always have really nice stuff. And I need new boots this year too, so let me know what you decide on. 🙂

  6. Looks like my pair are no longer available so check out the brand Sorel. I think you might find what you’re looking for.

  7. are these too short? they are pull on and shearling lined

    http://www.llbean.com/llb/shop/70225?feat=506588-GN2&attrValue_0=Brown/Brown

  8. I’ve HAD those boots before and they were very easy on/off but I did not ever find them to be cute, I think because my mother insisted on calling them Duck Boots and when I looked at my feet all I ever saw were two duck bills and, well, that’s not very cute. Perhaps you will be able to imagine something different.

    I was going to say Hunter Wellies too. But it never rains here so I am not much of an expert on this topic. HRMMM. Shoe conundrum!

  9. hmm water proof…I don’t have an answer for you. But I love my Jessica Simpson riding boots I got 2 Christmas’ ago. These are probably the newer version. They are really comfortable, I don’t really do heels, I prefer flats. http://www.endless.com/dp/B004VQ82CC/185-9746213-1253243?ie=UTF8&creative=395033&suppressRedirect=1&linkCode=asn&tag=googlecom09c9_endless-20&creativeASIN=B004VQ82CC&ref_=asc_df_B004VQ82CC1797919

  10. My friend wore these over Thanksgiving and raved about them: http://www.zappos.com/keen-shelby-high-boot-brown-full-grain

  11. About your tweet… My eight-year-old son wears Uggs. He has Ds so he’s about the size of a four or five-year-old. They are a-freakin’-dorable. He rocks them. 🙂

Comments are closed.

