Advent Day One: Plant an Amaryllis Bulb

Here’s the advent calendar all ready to go.  (True story:  When I think about how much work this was, I feel sort of ill.) I hung it on the inside of the front door so I can save it in a fire. Kidding. Sort of. Anyway.

I wrote out the activities two nights ago while sitting in front of my calendar (some of the things have to be done on a specific day or a weekend), but I reserve the right to move them around.  Eli has no idea what’s written on the cards at this point in time so I can always fudge things a bit if I’m not in the mood to decorate cookies or what have you.

Day One was “Plant An Amaryllis Bulb.” I figured we should start with something sort of fun, but not HUGE, and besides if I want the thing to bloom by Christmas I need all the blooming time I can get.

I got our amaryllis at Home Depot for $5.98 a few weeks ago.  They had giant stacks of them, but fair warning, the Home Depot kit comes with a super ugly plastic pot.  The ones at Target are more expensive but come in a nice ceramic pot. I don’t really need any more ceramic pots though.

At one point when I was trying to get Eli to come home from the neighbors and do this activity with me, he screamed at me “I HATE PLANTING AMARYLLIS BULBS!”  God, four year olds.  They’re just so AMAZING.

Anyway, it was reasonably fun and it took about five minutes. Everyone’s favorite part was adding the warm water to the weird soil cookie that comes in the kit and watching it expand.

Actually the coolest part about the whole thing was that I didn’t even think to include Katie Dubs and so she just climbed right up on the stool and joined the party.

When Katie really looks like a boy Erik and I call her Brian.  She’s totally a Brian, don’t you think?

Here’s Little Brian and Eli thinking about the magic and wonder of Christmas, and how it’s all really because of their fabulous mother that they experience it so fully.

Here’s Eli when I told him to smile and act natural. Doesn’t he look at ease?

Day one, check! Bet you can’t wait to read 24 more of these bad boys.  Yes, Erica, I am talking to you.

16 Responses

  1. Ooh, this is a good one! It’s going on my list!

  2. THAT IS NOT KATIE WEARING JEANS! AND A HOODIE! OMG SHE IS ENORMOUS.

    Also I sort of hate your Advent calendar. Why you have to show me up all the time. (Um, can you make me an Advent calendar?)

  3. Brian!

    Your advent calendar is AMAZING.

  4. I don’t have a calendar because that’s too much work, but, inspired by you, I’m going to do something holiday-y every day. Today we bought a Douglas fir wreath and put in on our balcony. It pleases me.

    I love that you call her Brian. It’s hilarious.

  5. Those children are so freaking adorable! Their little blonde heads just kill me. And Eli’s face in that picture…there are no words for how funny that is!

  6. Feel free to make me one as well. But only if the activities take 2 seconds because my crazy maniac 2 year old won’t sit still for any longer. Maybe one of the activities could be, “hog tie insane toddler to chair, take 5 minutes to read a book or drink wine”.

  7. Ha! You might as well have put that NaBloPoMo comment on your blog, Erica, because we all saw it! (and I have to say, I agree with you a little)

    I AM looking forward to seeing all your advent calendar activites, though, Elizabeth! I’m planning on copying at least a few of them.

  8. hahahha, yes, a Brian.
    Super cute pics. Looking forward to reading more.

  9. Smile and act natural! BA HA HA HA HAAAA!! Eli and Brian are the cutest kids ever ever ever!!!

  10. Oh, you are hilarious. You emailed me information about how you made your advent calendar and I thought “I can do that too…well, maybe not.” So I copped out and did little bags that I numbered and hung on my IKEA wire art display thingamajig. Good enough.

    We started the month out with the elf from Elf on the Shelf and after initially being intrigued by what was in the bag my three year old screamed “NOOOOO!” at me when I invited him to look closer. Ahh, Christmas memories. It’s so nice to share the joy of the season with grateful pre-schoolers.

  11. God I love your children. I can just imagine this going down.

  12. I couldn’t love this post more.

    Except maybe if you could go back in time and be MY mommy so that I could experience the magic and wonder of Christmas more fully.

  13. I want to give Brian and Eli a squeeze. And add me to the list of those who will be…ahem…*borrowing* some ideas.

    I can’t wait to hear more!

  14. BRIAN. HAHAHA, I am doing the silent cry/laugh at my desk right now.

  15. Well now that I am a pariah, I can just say whatever I want. And I will say that I actually enjoyed this post because the pictures tie in really well and I love “I HATE PLANTING AMARYLLIS BULBS” because that is awesome. 24 days might be a lot of advent calender though so keep it interesting, okay?

  16. I can’t believe I haven’t come up with a boy name for Anna yet.

Comments are closed.

