The Best Books I Read This Year

(Some of these books were published prior to 2011, but I read them this year.)

1. The Lonely Polygamist

2. One Day

3. Please Ignore Vera Dietz

4. Crossing the Tracks

5. Daughter of Smoke and Bone

6. State of Wonder

7. Where She Went

8. The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake

9. Ok for Now

10. Savages

11. City of Fallen Angels

12. An Object of Beauty

13. Rules of Civility

14. Girls in White Dresses

15. The 1o P.M. Question

16. Divergent

17. Bitter In the Mouth

18. The Marriage Plot

19. I think I forgot to list Live Wire on my lists of books I’ve read this year, but I also really liked it, enough so that I want to go back and read all the books that come earlier in the series.

20. Salvage the Bones

Do you have any favorites I missed out on? I have to read 15 ish books over the next few days to make my goal of 18o books read in 2011,  I’d love suggestions!

 

 

8 Responses

  1. I’ve bookmarked this page so I have January reads (except for the five or so I’ve already read). I’ve read a few Kristin Hannah books this year and enjoyed all of them. Also a couple by Jill Mansell … did you read Ruby Red by Kristin Gier?

    What ever you do, do NOT pick up a copy of Beauty Queens by Libba Bray. Don’t do it! 🙂 Brain cells, dying!

  2. I really liked Molokai by Alan Brennert. The topic isn’t pleasant but it is pretty crazy what the gov’t did about leprosy. The island is amazing as we just visited in the spring.

  3. The Lonely Polygamist kind of skeeved me out. Rules of Civility was one of my favorites of this year as well.

  4. I liked the Hourglass Door series (by Lisa Mangum) although the third (and final) book was not my favorite.

  5. No no no no NO to One Day. Yes to the rest. (But what do I know, someone at the library convinced me to read another book by Natalie Standiford. Ack.)

  6. Hmm, I think we have very similar tastes so I’m glad to see ones I haven’t discovered yet on your list.

    I clicked over from Shali’s blog at Reading and Chickens. My Best of 2011 list is here: http://www.hilarity-in-shoes.com/2011/12/13/ten-best-books-of-2011/

  7. Where She Went – yes, yes, yes!! I love that book. I don’t have your love for Gary D. Schmidt, but I read Okay for Now and Wednesday Wars and they were much more enjoyable than I had anticipated. I added a few to my list based on this and I have plenty of time to read, so I need to get busy requesting books from the library!

  8. How can you even put Bitter in the Mouth and that stupid lemon cake book on the same list?!?! BITM is so so so so so so so much better. That is all.

Comments are closed.

