I Never Thought I’d See the Day When Too Many Shoes Would Be A Problem

So my mom and my step father were in town for five days, and I have learned the hard way never to blog when family is visiting, so that’s where I was.  In other news, my mom threatened to call CPS on me, due to the state of my car, at least 14 times.  On the plus side, I now have a really really really clean car.

Anyway. I have returned from this self imposed internet exile with this scintillating question for all of you parental types out there – what do you do with your kids shoes?  Right now I have them in two fabric bins on the floor of the closet in their room, which means that although can get his own shoes and put them away, Katie is always taking them out and throwing them all over the house.  This is driving me insane.

I have tried moving the bins up to the shelf in the closet,  but that means even I can’t reach them without getting the  bins down, which is super annoying.  I also tried one of those hanging fabric shoe things, but I can only put shoes in the top ones or Katie will still take them out and throw them all over the house.

So what do you guys do? I’m thinking about a Rubbermaid tote with a lid, but I don’t think Eli can get that open, which is annoying.  Anyone have an obvious solution to this problem that I’m missing? Preferably one that doesn’t involve a trip to IKEA?

 

 

12 Responses

  1. What about a smaller bin/basket in a drawer (sock drawer)? We keep Kyle’s shoes in his drawer, but he only really wears 1-2 pairs and we just separate them from his socks so the socks don’t get dirty. We have a liner in that drawer, so it’s easier to clean a couple times a month.

  2. I don’t know if this will work for you, but I keep our shoes in a hanging canvas shoe thing, hung on the wall in our laundry room. The laundry room is near the door to the garage where we do most of our comings and goings. I keep the laundry room door closed with a child lock on it, but when it is time to go, I open the door and tell Elizabeth and she can get her own shoes and put them away when we come back. I keep all the other “go stuff” in there too, so I’d be opening that door anyway, to get my stuff, so it doesn’t cause me any extra work to open it for her.

    • actually this is genius! I could put one of those hanging shoe things in the front entryway closet (we don’t really have space in the back hallway laundry room area) and then they could just get their shoes out of the front closet even when one of them was asleep. That;s perfect! Elizabeth

  3. It wouldn’t have occurred to me to keep them somewhere other than their room, but that’s a really good idea! Right now we have a shelf that’s mid-level in each of their closets, so Hannah can’t reach and destroy them, but Benjamin and I can both reach the shelf to get what we need.

  4. i too hang my kids shoes in a canvas over the door hanger. we also have a basket in the front room hidden by the couch full of flip flops and easy access shoes for trips to take the trash out or a quick run to the store etc.

  5. well, mine involves a trip to Ikea, but I used the same skinny white recycling bins that Young House Love did, and I have three stacked on top of each other right inside the front door. All the kids’ everyday shoes (2 pairs sneakers each) reside in the bottom container. (All their hats and scarves reside in the middle container, and adult hats and scarves reside in the top). All their fancy shoes live on a top shelf in their bedroom closets.

    I still spend a lot of time telling children to go put their shoes in the bin, but they know where to find their shoes and its within their reach.

    In the old apartment i had an Expedit by the front door (another trip to Ikea) and each kid had their own cloth bin for shoes and a separate bin for hats and scarves.

  6. We have a (fugly) spinning shoe rack in the corner next to our coat rack (no coat closet because Seattle houses SUCK). We got it off Amazon and besides it being incredibly ugly, it’s wonderful. The shoes are too difficult for a little person to get off, or too high up, but it won’t tilt over because it’s got a sturdy base. I wish I knew what it was called, but Gregg bought it, as he does all of the ugly but practical things in the house. If you have closet real estate, do it! If not, um, no clue. Our shoes were all over the place when in bins, too.

  7. My girls both have all their shoes on the floor of their closet. I used to put them on the lowest shelf of the closet.

  8. I think your problem is not shoe storage but toddlerhood, and that there is no solution for that.

  9. We do large woven baskets (from HomeGoods, of course) by the front and back doors to encourage everyday shoes off right away. I say encourage because no one but me actually DOES it. But it does corral the shoes in one place. The rest of the shoes go in closets in bedrooms. Yet, again, I am the only one putting those away. Do we sense a theme here?

  10. Almost all of our shoes are kept in the front closet, which has a pocket door. When it’s latched, Margaret (2.5) can’t get into it. If we leave it cracked open, the baby can’t get in there and Margaret can. I think she started being able to at about 2.

    Fancy and out-of-season shoes go on a high shelf in their rooms.

  11. I think Katie wants something to get into and throw around. As soon as you remove the shoes she’ll find something else. It might be plates. Shoes aren’t that bad. My daughter is like a walking hurricane. She’s 5. I keep telling myself she will grow out of it. Not yet.

Comments are closed.

