Books I Read In February

16. Sex on the Moon.  This book has been on the best seller list forever, and although I normally don’t like non fiction all that much, I figured eh, why not? It can’t hurt, right?  And actually, I didn’t dislike this book because it was boring (my usual issue with non fiction) but because it was SO EFFING TERRIBLE.  Good god.  Between the odd motivations for the main characters’ actions and the weird divide between what must have actually happened and what was told to the author and the icky descriptions of every woman character (if I had to read about one more person’s “tight body” I was going to THROW UP ON THE PAGE), this book was just so not for me.

17.  Signs of Life.  I loved every single moment of this book.  I loved the author and I loved her writing and her sassy personality and I loved her honesty and her voice and I loved that she started off the book saying “I will never be mad at you for this” to her husband and she never was, even though she totally had the right to be. (Her husband died in a skateboarding type accident when she was five months pregnant with their son. He wasn’t wearing a helmet.)  Maggie refused to read this because she said it was too sad but I swear to god this was one of the most wonderful and life affirming things I’ve read in a long time.

18.  Ready Player One.  So much fun.  Loved it. This was one of those books where I just wanted my mother grabbing children to leave me alone so I could get back to reading it.

19.  The Year We Left Home.  I really loved the writing in this book, but the characters who were telling the story kept switching and I liked some of them so much more than others that it made this really uneven for me. I am glad I read it, but I had higher hopes for it in the beginning than I did by the end.

20. The Cut. What was this even about? Oh.  Yeah, that.  Hmmmm. Reading the fly leaf you’d think this author was god’s gift to crime fiction.  This was merely ok for me, however.  Everything that happened seemed exceptionally obvious, and I am not the type to figure these things out early on.

21. All These Things I’ve Done.  I was DUBIOUS about this book.  It seemed like one of those crappy YAF novels that are all the rage lately where the author thinks of some random things that would be totally crazy to be outlawed in the future and then tries to build some kind of shitty series around the fact that pens are illegal! Or whatever!  I liked this though.  It was weird in that fun weird YAF way that sometimes I find really appealing.  And I liked the main character a lot.

22.  The Borrower.  I liked this.  I did not love it, but in a fascinating twist of fate, I considered the last chapter to be absolutely wonderful.  Before that things seemed to be wandering a bit, but last two chapters, man. I have to check this out again and read the ending all over again. Worth reading for the last two pages alone.

I mean, if this isn’t poetry, I don’t know what is:

“I believed that books might save him because I knew they had so far, and because I knew the people books had saved. They were college professors and actors and scientists and poets. They got to college and sat on dorm floors drinking coffee, amazed they’d finally found their soul mates. They always dressed a little out of season. Their names were enshrined on the pink cards in the pockets of all the forgotten hardbacks in every library basement in America. If the librarians were lazy enough or nostalgic enough or smart enough, those names would stay there forever.” 

Sigh.

23.  Popular. Holy crap, no.

24. The Crane Sisters. I read this as an ARC on my kindle and it’s not even on Amazon yet, but once it is I will write a review because I super loved it, a lot.

25. The London Train.  This was one of those books that I could not make stick in my head. I’d read page after page of perfectly intelligent well written prose and at no point would any of it stay with me.  Eventually I gave up.

26. The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland In A Ship of Her Own Making.  This was just way too “dragons with purple feathers and imaginary woo woo” for me.

27. Under the Mesquite.  Eh. I am fairly well over the whole YAF/free verse situation.

28. Prep.  I am not sure that I have ever found another book as profoundly effecting or as incredibly super depressing. DAMN does she get into the psyche of the terrified 13 year old girl. This is the third time I have read this and I am still amazed by it.

29.  Spectacle. Not nearly as bad as I thought it would be.

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 Responses

  1. Ready Player One was amazing. I had never even heard of it before a friend suggested it. I think it deserves more hype!

  2. HOW do you read this much? HOW?!?!

  3. I love reading other people’s book reviews, but yours in particular 🙂 I immediately had to add Signs of Life to my To-Read, I mean: dead people memoirs — THAT’S MY GENRE! (God, I am depressing.)

    Also: FWIW, I am not a re-reader. I have too many books on my Want To Read list and I read WAY TOO SLOW already so I rarely do it. But Prep. Man, I have re-read that book multiple times. It is so awkward and awesome at the same time. GAH!

  4. YES. Rereading Prep again, just because I didn’t have anything else to read, and I did so RELUCTANTLY because I HATE REREADING THINGS but it’s like the first time all over again.

    Maybe Signs of Life. Not right now. Maybe later. Sigh.

  5. I LOVE the description “dragons with purple feathers and imaginary woo woo.”

Comments are closed.

