What I Wore This Week: The HFM Edition

{Jacket: thrifted, Shorts: J. Crew, T Shirt: Gap, Shoes: Top Siders, Necklace: Target}

I told myself that if I didn’t wear this jacket sometime soon I had to get rid of it, so I forced myself to wear it. I liked it. And a necklace plus a jacket made a plain old t shirt plus shorts far less schlubby. Layering is one of the things I have to make myself do but it makes a big difference.

{Dress: Kohls, Belt: Target, Shoes: Hive & Honey}

I’m pretty sure that rayon floral dresses are not sweeping the runway in Milan, but this makes me look really skinny in person, and it’s super comfortable, so you will pry it from my cold dead hands. Also, it looks awful in this picture, for some reason. Also, I put a belt on it, so I feel like I get extra gold stars for that.

 

{Dress: Lands End, Shoes: I can’t remember}

I liked this dress in person a lot and I felt like it was a good stand in for a polo dress which I cannot wear because me plus giant shapeless bag is a disaster.  However, in this picture, I am not so sure about this one. It makes me look wide in the downstairs and also like I have no neck. Hmmmm. Maybe a different belt than the navy one that came with it. A wider white one?

 

{Dress: American Eagle, belt: Target, Earrings: Target, Shoes: J.Crew}

I LOVE this dress. But I never wear it because it’s one of those things that I like to try on in front of mirror and then think “Oh, no, it’s too short” and then I take it off. But it’s so cute! I finally made myself wear it and I got compliments all day, although I may have shown the cashier at Target my underwear.  Several times.  Please note I took that belt off and on about a hundred times and then finally I just made myself wear it.  And someone told me I looked “fabulous”! So that was awesome.

Also, please note, it is really short. And it’s a size Large. And I’m 5’1″.  I’m just curious….where does this thing hit on someone who’s 5’10”?  Very odd.

{Skirt: Old Navy, Shirt: Gap, Necklace: Target, Shoes: Franco Sarto}

You see that towel there, in the foreground? Every single picture I took, the camera focused on those towels, so all the shots from this day are blurry. OF COURSE because it’s the most flattering thing I wore all week.

In other news, I am so far from understanding “this is flattering on me because of this” it’s not even funny. You could have knocked me over with a feather when this turned out to be the outfit that looked best on me.  Especially because I wore this shirt with shorts last week and it looked so bad I didn’t even take a picture. Sigh.

This is also known as the day that Eli came down with Hand Foot and Mouth Disease, so I needed to wear something I could do a lot of sitting around in.

{Shorts: Target, T Shirt: Gap, Shoes: Top Sider, Earrings: Target}

I’m not even going to detail the white shorts quest I have been on because it’s going to make you realize that with that time back I could solve world hunger, world peace, and invent cold fusion.  These shorts are ok.  The waistband gaps in the back and the pockets show through, but they fit me well. I like how they’re longer and a bit looser.  This outfit greatly resembles one of my favorite pictures of Jackie Kennedy and how can that not make you happy? Plus these earrings, while hard to see, are one of my favorites.

This is also known as the day my other child also came down with Hand Foot and Mouth Disease, so, more sitting around.

 

 

10 Responses

  1. I’ve had that Lands’ End dress in my cart about four times so far this summer. I love it! I think it looks great on you!

  2. Love this week!

  3. Those Hive and Honey shoes are hot. As for the Lands End dress, I think you’re right about a different belt, but I like it.

  4. That purple dress is fabulous and the belt was a good move. Looking good!

  5. The navy AE dress with the belt? LOVE IT.

    You look great in all of these and I love how confident you are in everything. You know you look good and it really comes through!

  6. I have that Kohls dress, and I kind of wanted to give you a virtual fist bump when I saw it. I never thought of adding a belt, so thank you for the idea that I will soon be implementing. You look fabulous.

    I am so far from being a seamstress, so I really don’t know, but if you don”t care for the white shorts pockets showing, can you take them out and sew up the holes?

    As usual, you’re doing a bang up job with the fashion this week. You make me want to go shopping. Or at least go through my closet.

  7. I read this! Also, LOVE the AE dress on you. I don’t understand the shortness either, but I think it looks great. Gold stars for the belt!

  8. I just came over from Temerity Jane. I am sooooo glad I did! The clothes posts are PERFECT, I love what you wear & I’m dealing with the “what do I weeeeear??!” issue myself. So you’ve given me some insperation! And, have you seen the shorts at Old Navy with the draw string? I now own every color they have & they are my new summer pj bottoms. (i ❤ ON more than any clothing store EVAH!) *back to stalking your awesome blog*

    • Thank you! That is so nice to hear, I must admit. I just got a pair of those Old Navy drawstring shorts in the mail yesterday! And they were waaaaay too small. Apparently I do not know my Old Navy size in bottoms very well. I need to return them and try on a bigger size. The white ones aren’t see thru, in your opinion? Elizabeth

  9. I love the Kohl’s & AE dresses! They’re so cute. I have a closet full of dresses, but I only wear them to church. Any time I put one on during the week I feel like I’m overdressed. Even though they’re cute and comfortable and I like them. I probably need to get over this.

Comments are closed.

