What I Wore This Week: The Early Edition

I’m posting early because tomorrow I am going on “vacation”, so instead of writing blog posts I will be folded into a seat the size of a postage stamp while a 2 year crawls all over me for 12 hours. Can you tell I’m really looking forward to it?

{Dress: Ross, Earrings: Target, Belt: Target, Shoes: Franco Sarto}

This is my trusty $7.99 Ross Dress For Less purchase. I love this dress so much I went back to see if they had more, but the dress selection that day was pitiful. Anyway, Holly tells me it is perfectly fine to belt something directly below my boobs, and I thought it was super cute. If you are a belting newbie such as myself, can I recommend just putting a belt wherever a dress or shirt has one of those stretchy elastic waistbands? When I see one of those now, I hear “Belt me here.” Very helpful.

 

{Skirt: c/o Downeast Basics, Tee: Downeast Basics, Necklace: Target, Shoes: Franco Sarto}

A bunch of us got invited to a “Blogger Mixer” at Downeast Basics and it was really fun. I picked out this skirt with the $25 gift card they gave me, and I ADORE it. It’s so flattering and fun and I love the color.  Of interest to me is that I checked out the site a bit before I went and I didn’t give this skirt a second glance, but in person, as soon as I put it on, both Amy and I were like, “HELLO.” It pays to go to the evil mall, is what I am telling you.  Also, it makes my kiester look great, is the other thing I am telling you.

One of my problems with tucking shirts into things is that the thick 100% cotton tees I normally buy don’t tuck in smoothly. They tend to pull out of my clothes and end up bagging, especially in the back. I just grabbed this t shirt quickly because I was wearing a dress and needed something to try skirts on with, and although it’s more spandexy than my normal tees, it worked really well to tuck into this skirt.  So there’s a tip from me – tucking in might require a thinner tee with some stretch. It’s a fine line between baggy and “is that…a bodysuit?” for me, but I think this shirt works.

{Tank: Target, Skirt: J. Crew, Necklace: Target, Shoes: Franco Sarto}

Remember when I said this skirt made me look like a Mennonite, and Hillary said I needed to wear it with sexy shoes to de Jesusify it? This got me thinking that maybe if I added Satan’s Tank Top, it would super extra help with the de Jesusifying. I think it was very successful.  In truth I only bought this color because my local Target is literally incapable of maintaining any stock of any color of tank top ever, and this was all they had, but I really am loving the red and navy. De Jesusification success!

{Dress: Banana Republic, Shoes: Hush Puppies, Necklace: Ebay}

Does anyone else find Banana Republic totally overwhelming? There’s so much stuff I like and it’s all so expensive and there’s all these little rooms and I could spend a billion dollars in there.  That’s why I like to vet it online, I guess. It’s also really helpful to have “the uniform” in this situation. I just tell myself if it’s not something I’m looking for (I keep a list in Google Docs) I don’t even need to waste my time. Anyway, after I professed my love of triangle shaped bags, Maggie recommended this dress.  It runs a little small, I think, fyi. I am wearing an XL in this picture. It really really like it, though. Giant blue and white t shirt for the win! Oh, and for the record, most of the non sale stuff in BR is 40% off every Wednesday. I’m not going to lie, I would not pay $80 for this dress, but $40 something? Sold.

I will be on vacation for two weeks. Please don’t call the fashion police if you don’t hear from me.

HA HA HA what a good joke.

 

 

11 Responses

  1. I really love that navy and white striped dress. I am such a sucker for anything navy and white striped, really. Bonus that it looks great on you!

  2. I’m loving reading these weekly posts. Those dresses look great on you.

  3. Sexy shoes and Satan’s tank top = brilliant.

    I get overwhelmed like that in both BR and JCrew. That dress is fantastic, so uniform FTW!

  4. I LOVE that last dress. I’ve really been enjoying these fashion posts, as a fellow sufferer of large thighs who used to fear ever showing my knees or wearing shorts, period. You’re inspiring!

  5. The DownEast Basics skirt is a 10. LOVE LOVE LOVE it. And I did not get Jesus-y at all from that outfit, so good job slutting-up your upper half! 🙂

    Hope you have a great vacation!

  6. That skirt with the ruffle is fabulous.

    Also, I’ve been rocking the belt below the boob look. I’ve been wearing a dress off and on for three years to work without notice. Add a belt below the boob and funky necklace? Got tons of compliments.

  7. Satan’s Tank Top! Ha. (Also, I originally wrote “Jason’s Tank Top.” I have no idea who Jason is or what he has to do with your tank top).

  8. I love that last outfit!

  9. I LOVE Satan’s tank top + red lipstick. Looks amazing! And so does that fancy orange skirt. And so does Maggie’s dress. So what I’m saying is, when can I come over and borrow all your clothes? kthxbai have a nice vacation!

  10. Inspired by your fashion posts, I actually attempted to buy a horizontally-striped t-shirt the other day (sadly, they were out of my size). I would NEVER have done that before. I seriously thought ‘well, Elizabeth looks awesome in stripes, I should give it a try.’ So, thanks for that, lady!!

  11. Love the dress from Ross. We recently (within the last couple of weeks) got a Ross near us, I’ll definitely have to visit it soon!

Comments are closed.

