Books I Read: October

At first I really did think all I was going to get read this month was The Twelve, but then I got sick and it really upped my books read percentage.  So at least there’s that.

136. The Last Hundred Days 

Let’s see. This is one of those books that was incredibly well written, and it was about such an interesting time in history, but it just did not hold my attention and it took me FOREVER to read.  I don’t know, this book just felt smarter than me.

I’m glad I read it but I would never describe it as a page turner. I did have to write down these two quotes, which really struck me.
“The rustle of unseen activity was everywhere, like the scratching of insects in darkness. Kafka’s The Castle came to mind, a book I had no read but that fell into that category of literature that culture reads on your behalf and deposits somewhere inside you.”
“When I decided that we were learning about politics not in order to re-imagine the world but the opposite – to continue justifying why it was this way and could be no other – I changed to art history and spend my days touring galleries and reading catalogues.”
137. The Twelve.  Eh. I like The Passage better, but it did what it was supposed to do.  While I was reading it was ALL IN, but when it was over, it didn’t really stick with me.

138. Where’d You Go, Bernadette?

This had a weird tone, again, like “Gone, Girl” and “Shine, Shine, Shine”, but it wasn’t as oppressive as those books for me.  It was fine, but I didn’t love it.  I think if you live in Seattle, though, you should probably be required to read it.

139. Monument 14

This was reasonably entertaining, but some of the logistics didn’t hang together.  It’s about a bunch of kids trapped in a giant big box store and how they survive in a sort of apocalypse  I just couldn’t get past the fact that they couldn’t use the running water but they cooked three meals a day that they allegedly cleaned up with wet wipes.  Yeah, no.

140. The People of Forever Are Not Afraid.  You know how when you read about people’s dreams they aren’t interesting because there’s no connection to reality? That’s how this book was for me.  I wanted to love it, but it was too nebulous and random and wandering for me.

141. Tigers In Red Weather.  Ugh. I made it 5/6th’s of the way through this book and then I just wanted everyone to GET BENT and I quit.

Fifty Shades Freed. I couldn’t do it. The whole “Oh, no, I made my husband mad and I am in trouble” business gave me the stabby feelings.

142. Live By Night.  This is the first of the “big new fall/winter” books I think I’ve read and it bodes well.  I found it highly enjoyable.  If you like reading about the mob, you will enjoy this, I think. It’s violent, but it’s very entertaining.

143. The Cutting Season. Meh.  For a mystery, this was not at all terrifying.  I think there was too much telling and not enough showing.

Book of the Month? Live By Night.

3 Responses

  1. I enjoy that months when you read “very few” books is what most Americans read in a year. You rock.

  2. I came here for YA recommendations, becauase I am finally OK with reading YA again and…sigh. Why are there no awesome books lately? I am sad.

  3. I am so excited to read Live By Night. Dennis Lehane is one of my favorites.

Comments are closed.

