Books I Read In November

This was one of those months where at first I had all the time in the world and nothing to read and now I have all these books to read and no time, and every time I start a book I fall asleep two pages in.  I’m about three chapters in to a whole stack of stuff, which makes this list pretty boring, but nothing has really grabbed me yet so it’s been slow going. Anyway, here’s what I actually finished in November:

144. Black Fridays.  I enjoyed this. It was billed as one of the “big books of the year” and I don’t know if I’d go that far, but it was really good.  The tone of the book and the main character’s personality were what really made this book, the plot and the mystery angle of the whole thing was nothing very groundbreaking.

145. Sutton.  This is the fictionalized story of America’s most famous bank robber.  I enjoyed it and it was interesting, but I never could quite get past the reasoning given for why Sutton became and continued to be a bank robber. Lots of people don’t have jobs and can’t find work, they don’t all think it’s ok to rob banks because of those things. And the love story broke my heart at the end.

I also thought it was weird that one of the scenes so closely mimicked The Shawshank Redemption that one scene has to be borrowed from the other, but I couldn’t figure out via Google which came first.

146. Sweet Tooth.  This is the new book by Ian McEwan, who wrote Atonement, which I hated more than a lot of things I’ve hated in recent times. However, this book sounded interesting, and it was. I’m glad I read it, I liked it, but it did have a certain “british icky vibe especially about sex” vibe that I could have lived without.  The main character just kept sleeping with these duds and it was sort of…icky.  However, I found a great deal of redemption for the whole thing in the ending.

147. The Keeper of Lost Causes. I liked this. It was your average “quirky Swedish mystery” that we’re getting a lot of these days, but it was entertaining, and there weren’t any SSP’s*. I’d read another one.

148. Days of Blood and Starlight.  Man, this was a rough one, because I fricking LOVED Daughter of Smoke and Bone, but I bought this the day it came out (on my Kindle) and ugh. I thought it was fairly wretched, actually.  Just violent and pointless and long as hell and just really missing every single good part of the first book.  It felt HORRIBLY “middle book in a series so let’s stretch this out” and it just…uck.  I mean, if you look at those Amazon reviews, people loved it, but I thought it was awful. Just awful.

149. Son. I have to admit something here, which is that for ONE BILLION DOLLARS I couldn’t tell you ONE thing that happened in the Giver, or Gathering Blue, or the Messenger, so I think it’s safe to say that these books make a big impression on some people but I am not one of those people. Anyway, this  book was fine, I actually enjoyed the first part quite a bit but then it gets quickly into “ye olde time of dying fabric with ye olde plants which we boil in ye olde kettle” and that is not for me, so I am giving this a solid meh.

 

*Swedish Sex Perverts.

6 Responses

  1. The thing everyone should realize about Ms. Nebraska, wrt number 149 above, is that “a solid meh” is actually one of her more ringing endorsements.

  2. So this has nothing to do with the content of the post, but my favorite part is that right underneath the Swedish Sex Perverts is a pie chart of a brain and I put the two together. So I thought you had created the pie chart and all of the catagories had to deal with the skills needed to be a SSP.

  3. Have you read The Tender Bar? It’s by the guy who wrote Sutton and is one of my very favorite memoirs ever. A friend and I went down to the Miami Book Fair to see Moehringer speak about Sutton earlier this month and he was just absolutely charming in person, which made us like the books even more.

    I don’t know if I can do Sweet Tooth. I didn’t hate Atonement, but it sort of sapped my will to live reading it.

  4. “I am giving this a solid meh” is one of my favorite phrases EVER! Will be borrowing.

  5. Daughter of Smoke and Bone made me feel really stupid. I hate young adult books that make me feel stupid.

Comments are closed.

