What I Ate This Week: More Whole 30

DSC_0026-001

I think this was lunch. A hard boiled egg, blackberries, a kiwi, and some sliced chicken breast. I don’t normally love kiwi fruit, but the ones at the Farmer’s Market right now are insane.

 

DSC_0002-001

I can’t lie, this was my least favorite dinner this week. I just don’t know that I’m a pork chop gal. And normally I love Brussels sprouts, but these were just greasy and burnt tasting.  And the squash was just chunky and gloppy and I don’t know.  This was the dinner that made me sad.

DSC_0062-002

This was good, but I didn’t love it as much as I thought I would. I think I missed my Hellman’s for the first time.  This was chicken salad, so: chopped up chicken (from the chicken I roasted), cucumbers, grapes, cashews, and apples, with homemade mayo and curry powder, over spinach.

DSC_0066-001

This (Beef and Bok Choy Hot Pot) was my favorite dinner this week. And everyone loved it. I left out the sugar and in the recipe, but I did put in a 1/4 cup of soy sauce. I’m just…not afraid of soy sauce. And I don’t want to buy coconut aminos, and I am never going to cook with them once Whole 30 is over, and I think it’s more useful for me to have recipes I would actually make in my future cooking repertoire, rather than recipes with weird ingredients in them I’d never cook with.  Hey, I’m just proud of myself for using up my boy choy before it went bad. I also made a separate batch of noodles and everyone else had theirs over the noodles.

DSC_0006-001

This Shrimp Diablo was also delicious. I left out the chili sauce because mine had sugar in it, though. I put this over summer squash that I sliced up into “noodles” because my spaghetti squash was rotten when I went to use it. So annoying. And yet I triumphed! Gold star, me.

Last night I had a Trader Joe’s turkey burger with avocado, tomato, and home made mayo, wrapped in a lettuce leaf, and I forgot to take a picture. Here, here’s a picture for you:

turkey

 

 

5 Responses

  1. What in the hell are COCONUT AMINOS!?

  2. Ashley,
    Coconut aminos are a gluten-free, soy-free combination of aged coconut sap and sea salt that tastes fairly close to soy sauce, especially when used in marinade or sauce (versus like, dipping sushi directly into it). The reason Whole 30 uses it is because Whole 30 calls for a complete elimination of soy as part of the 30 day detox – removals of both legumes and gluten, both of which are in soy sauce.

  3. I … Applaud you people who went whole hog into this Whole 30 thing. I went for something I knew I could accomplish but still took a bit of effort. whole 39, as my autocorrect calls it. Carbs with only one meal of the day, in moderation. Yes to lentils and beans. Absolutely no soda, and as little sweets as I can manage. Maybe I’ll ease into Whole 30. 🙂 Or maybe not. Good luck!

  4. Good on you – I couldn’t do it. I’m still living off the fact that I was mostly vegan for six months about four years ago. Coconut aminos? Ugh.

  5. Tried the hot pot tonight! Yum! And this is the first time the CSA bok choy didn’t rot in my fridge. So, a double win!

Comments are closed.

