What I Wore This Week: It’s Cold Again Plus My New Very Special Present

It was 75 degrees last week! We had a couple warm afternoons earlier in this week, but mostly it was cold again. I think we have about 2 or 3 weeks left of weather where I can wear actual winter clothes, so I am in a rush to wear all the outfit ideas I thought up this year and haven’t gotten around to executing yet. If I can try them out and take pictures, then I have a much better chance of being able to recreate them next year. (I put my favorite outfits in a Pinterest board and then if I can’t think of anything to wear or if I’m packing for something, I have a really fast visual reference of things that work together.)

DSC_0042-001

{Loft Curvy Crops, Gap Favorite Tee, Ebay Necklace, J. Crew wedges}

I tried A LOT of white crops, these were the clear winners.  They aren’t see through and they’re the perfect length. (These are petites.) I’ve heard people complain about quality at Loft, but I am literally wearing red underwear underneath these in this picture and you can’t see anything, and this was the only pair that I tried that you could say that about. And I just love the way the curvy fit from Loft fits me.  Anyway, I feel like white pants aren’t for everyone but I couldn’t live without white bottoms in the summer. They go with EVERYTHING. I loved this outfit.

 

DSC_0073-001

{Gap Dress, Target belt, Marshalls Scarf, Old Navy Leggings, Frye Campus Boots}

This is the first dress I bought during Gap Friends & Family with my giant gift from the internet.  It’s not necessarily the MOST flattering dress I’ve ever owned, but I loved how comfy it was and the unexpected pattern. And I finally found a wide tan belt! I really love it.

(P.S. I still think this is an outrageous price for a pleather belt, but I guess this is just what belts cost? I don’t know, but I could finally wear a bunch of stuff again once I bought it so I figured it was worth the ridiculous price.)

DSC_0138-001

{Anthro jacket, random street pashmina, Banana Republic Outlet dress, Loft Leggings, Bandolino Cabeza Boots (if you have tiiiiiiny feet but wide calves they are on super sale at that link)}

Sometimes if something isn’t working for me I just keep throwing more pieces on until it feels right.  This was one of those days, and I really liked the end result. I think looking back on it I’d wear black boots, but whatever.

DSC_0199-001

{Gap Tee, Gap scarf, AE Hi Rise Super Skinnies, Anne Klein Evanthe boots}

I needed a play date outfit.  This worked.  Also, I love these boots, and this scarf is my favorite thing ever. I know that’s not super helpful since you can’t get it now, but still. Love.

 

DSC_0210-001

{Kohls dress, Nordstrom scarf, Loft Leggings, Anne Klein Evanthe boots}

This dress is so cute and flattering, and also so poorly made. It’s a conundrum. I don’t think I’d buy anything at Kohl’s again unless I was REALLY desperate.  Every time I wear it I have to repair it afterwards.

 

DSC_0295-001

{Banana Republic sweater, Nordstrom scarf, Anthropologie skirt, Target tights, some random brand of wedges I can’t remember}

I am so proud of myself for figuring out another way to wear this skirt! I had to give myself the “be brave” talk to wear tights this red out in public, but I LOVED this outfit. I felt so cute all day. And I felt like the scarf somehow made all the other bright red less weird. AND I got a compliment on the shoes, so there you go.

Also, I normally hate these tights (the $5 Target tights that come rolled up), but these were the only TRUE RED tights I could find, and they had to match the shoes exactly, and these were actually not as awful as the $5 tights normally are. So cautious endorsement there.

DSC_0374-001

{Eddie Bauer blazer (thrifted), Banana Republic Blouse (c/o Kate Welsh), AE Hi Rise Super Skinnies, Bandolino boots, Michael Kors Runway Watch}

I looked FOREVER for a navy blue blazer, and then this one was just sitting there, at my local thrift store. It’s a 12 Petite! Do you know how unusual it is to find your exact size in something so well made that you are actively look for? Also, it was $2.49. It was a MAJOR score, is what I am saying.  Then I never wore it because I felt like it would look weirdly matchy with jeans, but then I saw someone wearing almost this exact combination two days ago and it clicked. I really loved this look. I am also wearing this blouse Kate sent me that I LOVE  but could never figure out how to wear exactly, and my new watch that I have the special feelings for.  The very special feelings.  (The watch is another thing that I bought with my large gift from the internet.) I LOOOOOOVE IT. I would NEVER have bought anything like this for myself (or at least no time soon) because it’s a lot of money for a watch and a Fossil watch would be perfectly good, but that  makes it SO special to me, it really does. As as I got the gift I knew I wanted to use it on something more than a skirt I will clean out of my closet in a year and a half and I thought a watch was perfect. And I will have it always and it will be a tangible reminder of one of the nicest things that has ever been done for me. I am going to have “stronger” engraved on it and every time I see it I will think of you all and I will remember that I CAN DO ANYTHING and that people are wonderful.

 

15 Responses

  1. You look great in EVERY outfit! Bravo! 🙂

  2. That watch is fantastic. I also LOVE the red tights outfit.

  3. Love the blazer. I feel like I’m missing out by not having a blazer, especially one for $2.49.

  4. I think white pants are not for me, but I am very impressed that you found a pair you could wear red underwear with and not have issues! Most of my underwear is boring beige because I fear this exact issue.

  5. I absolutely love that watch, and I love the engraving idea! So perfect!

    I also love those white pants. I’ve wanted a pair of white pants, but I refuse to walk around in anything you can see my underwear in, so I may have to check those out!

  6. You look as lovely as ever =)!

    The watch is a great idea!! I’m so glad you found something you wanted that you could splurge on =)!

  7. Damn, lady, you are looking seriously sexy in that last picture. I might need to replicate that outfit/hairstyle/facial expression and try to coax someone to photograph me. It’s such a covered up outfit and yet it’s HOT. That’s the perfect kind of sexy, imo.
    Er, not coming on to you, I promise. Just what popped into my (hetero!) head.

  8. I love Kohl’s! I get summer dresses there every year – like 4 or 5 of them – and I wear them just about every day and rarely do I have to get my sewing kit out for repair. Maybe it was just an anomaly?

  9. That last part made me a little bit sniffly, I have to admit.

  10. But you didn’t talk about how good you look with that sassy red lipstick!

  11. You look fabulous! The overpriced belt is rather awesome. I’ll say it again: I love your style!

  12. UM, I went to Loft last week during the big 40% everything sale and picked up those crops – thank you!! Yes, that curvy fit is so great that I even went and tried on all of the curvy fit jeans in the store. Unfortunately all the washes/stitching color on their jeans is kind of ‘off’ IMO. Still keeping my eyes peeled for AE high rise skinnies…

  13. love, LOVE the outfit with the red tights – so fun and stylish and you look great in it!

  14. I’m late here, but I wanted to say that I love the watch and I think it’s perfect. And we all love you.

  15. I have a very nice navy blazer in my closet that i’ve NEVER WORN because even though I think it looks good on me I just… am I sort of person who wears a blazer, skinnies, and boots? I JUST DON’T KNOW. So then I put on a dress and leggings for the millionth day in a row.

Comments are closed.

