Books I Read This Month: March

The most exciting thing that happened this month is that I finally got an Iphone and it scans books right into Goodreads using the bar code! It’s seriously my favorite thing. Anyway, I’ve been listing my books over there again.

I am totally out of books to read, it’s rather depressing. I do have some weighty tomes I actually purchased that I should be reading, but booooooooring. Blech.

Anyway. This is what I read this month. It was  A LOT. This is what happens when I get sick – I plow through books at top speed.

(P.S. Every month when I write this list out someone emails me to ask how I manage to read so many books – here’s an explanation.)

28. After Visiting Friends

I liked this book a lot, it was a little slow moving for me but non fiction always is, and it was well written and interesting and smart. It reminded me of Rick Bragg, a little bit. Recommend.

29. How To Lead a Life of Crime

You know, I liked this, but it was LONG AS HELL.  Still, as far as cheesy YAF adventure stories go? I found it perfectly acceptable.

30. Ask the Passengers 

A lot of people over on Amazon really liked this book, and Please Ignore Vera Dietz is one of my very favorites, but this was just not for me.

31. Little Known Facts

The problem with this book is that the main character just completely sucked, and I don’t know about you but I just don’t want to read about surly dickheads, especially when everyone is trying to be nice to them while they just act like turds. No thanks.

32. The Still Point of the Turning World

Unbearably sad.  Really lovely but just absolutely heartbreakingly achingly sad.

33. The Orchardist

I don’t know if I would say that I loved this book, but I admired it as a thing of great achievement.  I bet it makes it onto my “Not Top Ten But Very Close” List at the end of the year.  It reminded me a lot of Kent Haruf, for what that’s worth.  Basically, it’s hard for me to LOVE books that aren’t about teen girls kissing teen boys, but I thought this book was pretty great. A strong like. Not quite a love.

34. The Tragedy Paper

I thought this was abysmal.

35. Schroder 

Super not a fan.

36. Paper Valentine

I don’t know if I’m going to become a Brenna Yovanoff rally girl or what have you, but I liked it.  It had a nice mix of creepy and romantical.  If you’re not into people being killed though, this isn’t for you. Oh, and the murderer was SUPER duper obvs from about page eight, so it’s not exactly a brain teaser, if you get what I’m saying.

37. The Perks of Being a Wallflower

I read this when it was first published one million years ago, when I was a young lady of leisure. I can remember it seeming very much the first of its kind.  I also remember liking it which is interesting because this time around I didn’t care for it. I found the main character super duper annoying.  Opinions? Anyone think he was kind of a whiny pants?

38. Drown

Junot Diaz is my literary boyfriend.

39. True Believers

Do you ever start to read a book and immediately see one of the main characters as someone in your mind? Usually for me it’s an actor. Anyway, the second I started reading this, I pictured the main character as Sally Draper, and I kept thinking I’d just rather be watching Sally Draper do her thing.  Anyway, this book flashed back and forth between now ish and the past and they kept selling this big TERRIBLE THING that the main characters had once done and by the time they finally shut up about it and told us what it was I no longer cared at all about any of it. Not one bit.

40. Autobiography of Us

Yeah, no.

41. Wave

Man, this book was weird for me. I don’t know.  It was just very weird.

42. In Darkness 

I wanted to like this, it won the Printz Award, but I kind of knew I wouldn’t like it and I kind of didn’t.

43. Just One Day

I have no idea why anyone would like this. I thought it was super boring.  To me it read like “The Tale of a Boring 16 Year Old Who Acts Like a 12 Year Old And How She Went to Europe and Was Boring”. I think at one point there was a joke about cheese sandwiches. So fresh! Except yeah, no.

44. Blind Sight

So the other day on Twitter we were talking about The Cranes Dance and how good it was, and someone, I think Kristin, asked about her other books and it occurred to me that maybe I should…read Meg Howry’s other books.  Anyway, she’s only written one, and it was this one, and I looooooooooooooooooooved it. I LOVED IT.  I loved it so much.

This is one of those books that you just want to keep reading. You want to know these people. You want to find these people and make them your friends.  You want to raise your kids in this family.  You have felt these feelings. You know what it’s like to be in this life, to be torn between your parents, to laugh at your sisters, to come home after leaving and have it feel right and wrong at the same time, it just made me laugh and it made me cry and I just…it was great. I mean, I just loved this book.  I want her to write eighty five more books so I can read them all. Well done, Meg Howry.  There was a teeny thing at the end that wasn’t great for me, but in retrospect I forgive it, but it was sort of unnecessary and without it I would give his book 10 out of 10, but because of that I am going to go with 9.5. Also I am pretty convinced no one else will like this book after I have raved about it, so please don’t hate me if you hate it ack.

45. Wise Men

Oh, I thought this was terrible. I am sure it’s very smart and great and a bunch of people put it on a bunch of lists but I thought it was one of those mean spirited books that is trying to seem very smart and great but is just nasty.

46. The Privileges

I liked this, but I didn’t love it.  It was really interesting to see what happens when you go from “eh, we have money” to “Woah, what the heck do we do with all this money?” but then it kind of started to stress me out and all I could think about was the piles of money. BURN IT IN A FIELD! God. But I loved the central relationship and those two characters and that went a long way with me.

 

 

3 Responses

  1. I thought you were going to read Eleanor and Park! I’m one zillion on the waiting list at the library.

    I still liked Perks on reread, but I remember being dazzled by it and now…not as much? Not as much. But I still really liked it.

  2. I literally JUST read Janssen’s review of The Tragedy Paper (“restored my faith in YA fiction”) and read “abysmal” from you. Can’t stop laughing.

  3. I liked perks of being a wallflower. I did think it was weird how he was crying all the time. However the ending explains a lot about his emotional instability.

Comments are closed.

