Books I Read: March 2014

Thank you for all the lovely comments and emails and tweets on my last post.  I really appreciate it.

(And I closed comments on it simply because all my comments close automatically after five days, otherwise every “What I Wore” post ends up getting three or four late comments from people I have never heard of telling me they hate my shoes or my dress is too short.  I assume this is due to Google or else just because people are awesome.)

Anyway, here’s what I read this month, although it’s not much because mostly what I did this month was watch Veronica Mars.  It ruled.

20. Will I Ever Be Good Enough? Healing the Daughters of Narcissistic Mothers

will I ever be good enough

Let’s maybe not go into why this was recommended to me right this minute, and just say that I found this book very helpful. It was a quick read and I had several “light bulb” moments both while reading it and afterwards. Recommend.

BTW, I have a HUGE stack of self help books that I’ve bought or checked out from the  library and I have been having a really hard time getting around to reading them.  My normal reading time doesn’t lend itself to tomes about damaged families.  However I used to go to therapy once a week and now I am only going every two weeks, so on the  non therapy weeks I still leave the house at 5:15, but I just take a self help book and go to a coffee shop or Panera.  It’s like therapy, and it gets me out of the house, and I get time to read my self helpy hoo ha, but it’s free! Ish.  Also recommend.

21.  Claire of the Sea Light

claire of the sea light

Intellectually I can recognize that this book was really beautifully written, but unfortunately it was also really boring.

22.  One Tiny Lie

one tiny lie

As smutty books go, this one was better than average.  Oh, I’m sorry, I think I’m supposed to be calling this genre “new adult” now. Klassy.

23.  The Summer I Found You

the summer I Found you

I think it’s important to note that at no point do any events in this book take place in the summer.  There are no scenes set in summer, no one is named summer, there’s no themes having to do with summer.  Literally no summer whatsoever. Also the main characters name is spelled at least two different ways throughout the book, possibly three.  I guess “The Spring I Found You” doesn’t have quite the same ring to it, but come on, man.  Slap an umbrella on that cover and spell check your characters name.

24.  Panic

panic

I REALLY liked Before I Fall, although I didn’t care for the whole Delirium/Pandemonium/Harmonium/Condominium series.  Panic was good though.  It was pretty YA and awfully predictable BUT I still enjoyed it.  It was my favorite book of the monthium.

Also, apropos of nothing, Erik pointed out that this cover looks like an attempt at a hip redesign of boxed hair dye, and now I can’t unsee it.

25. I Feel Bad About My Neck

i feel bad about my neck

Nora Ephron is my spirit animal, and this book 1. Made me laugh 2. Made me watch When Harry Met Sally for the billionth time and 3. cost me approximately twelve thousand dollars in face cream.

26. Ten Tiny Breaths

ten tiny breaths

This comes before Smutty Book Number 22 in the series, but this one was not as good, imho.  That or I grew tired of the Tried and True Smutty Book Formula by the time I read it, because apparently you can only read so much of “she’s a virgin or basically a virgin because that one time she did do it, it wasn’t that good and also kind of an accident, but then she meets a bad boy but he’s not actually bad just SUPER hot and rides a motorcycle and then there’s some kind of super stupid misunderstanding about how one of them did something that no person on earth would ever actually be mad at someone for doing like being in the car when his drunk sister drove and then they take 200 pages to work out what a stupid reason that is not to make out with each other.”  I like to read about girls kissing boys but I grow weary of these shenanigans.

27.  Best Kind of Broken

best kind of broken

See “Tired of Smutty Book Formula”. Sorry, New Adult.  Except it’s actually completely The Same Old Adult.

 

4 Responses

  1. It’s interesting how similar the covers for Claire of the Sea Light, One Tiny Lie, and The Summer I Found You are, especially coincidentally all in a row!

  2. I just finished reading “The Sun and Other Stars” by Brigid Pasulka and it was great. It started off a bit slow and I didn’t think I was going to like it/keep reading (mostly because I now have the attention span of a gnat), but it picked up relatively quickly and turned out to be a really beautiful story about a tiny town in Italy and how soccer (of all things) can change lives. Highly recommend!

  3. I’m behind on my blogs and JUST read the last post. So. I have to comment here.

    Oh ELIZABETH. I just want to hug you. I FEEL you and hear you and your words of encouragement, your LONG email of suggestions and thoughts and things that might help, just knowing you’ve been there, are going through it and are waking up each day have been SUCH an encouragement to ME.

    I’m just so proud of you, happy for you and…gah. I want to hug you. ❤

  4. Your description of New Adult is spot on. Especially the motorcycle. (I also did not care for the Condominium series by Oliver. I feel like Before I Fall might be her only book of hers I will like. Ah well.)

Comments are closed.

