Books I Read: April 2014

29. Dept. of Speculation

dept of speculation

I accidentally requested this from the library yesterday when I’ve obviously already read it, if that shows what kind of an impression it made on me.  I rated it four stars and I have NO idea what it’s even about.  I just read the description and I still can’t remember it.  I guess I liked it. ???  It seems pretty clear this didn’t rock my world, though.

30.  Far From You

far from you

I believe I also have this on request, so I’m doing well keeping my shit together, clearly.  Maybe send me some ginkgo biloba or something.  Oh, yes, this.  This was fine.  I had nothing else to read at the time and it didn’t violently annoy me, so yeah. It was perfectly fine.

31.  Why Is It Always About You? Saving Yourself From the Narcissists In Your Life

why isit always about you

I found this book helpful.

32.  Dreams of Gods and Monsters

dreams of gods and monsters

Loved it. Totally redeemed my dislike for the second book in the series. Daughter of Smoke and Bone is still my favorite of the three, but this was a great ending book.  I had a ton of fun reading it. It wasn’t like the first book where I told everyone I knew to read it RIGHT THE HECK NOW, but it was a very satisfying finale.

33.  We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves

we are all completely

Hmmmm. I didn’t hate it. Some parts of it were very good, some parts of it were merely ok. Uneven, I guess we call that.  Amazon would have you believe it’s the best book ever written but I didn’t wet my pants over it or anything.  I wouldn’t say I was completely beside myself over it.  HA SEE WHAT I DID THERE!?

34.  Four Seconds to Lose

four seconds to lose

Smutty book number three in the “Ten Seconds To Something Or Other I Forgot What” Series. Meh.

35.  The Stone Girl

the stone girl

I thought this was a pretty realistic depiction of what it’s like to have an eating disorder, but it was sort of one note, and there was no real resolution. The end got weird. Also, holy pushover, Batman.

36. Spellbound

spellbound

This was one of the worst books I’ve read in a long time. Lucky for us it’s listed on Goodreads as Spellbound #1, so there will surely be more piles of unreadable dreck in this illustrious line.

37.  How to Love

how to love

This was my favorite book of the year so far. I ABSOLUTELY think this is the kind of book that you love or hate, and I ABSOLUTELY understand why someone would hate it.  I even kind of think maybe I SHOULD have hated it, but I didn’t. I loved it. I loved every minute of it. It reminded me of why I read YAF, how much it means to me when it just WORKS. I want to buy it and read it again and people, that NEVER happens.  NEVER.  If you don’t like sort of jerky unnatainable love interests (CALL ME JORDAN CATALANO) and quirky shy heroines who have a hard time standing up for themselves…oh, I’m making this sound just terrible.  I just…well, you might hate it. I loved it. Let’s leave it at that.

 

 

 

 

2 Responses

  1. You had me at Jordan Catalano! Adding “How To Love” to my list.

  2. I liked We Are All Completely Besides Ourselves, but mostly for the first half, and for the totally sappy ending where I cried.

Comments are closed.

