Books I Read: May 2014

38.  The Smart One

the smart one

I read this because I really really loved Girls In White Dresses.  I liked this book, but it wasn’t anywhere near as good as Girls In White Dresses, and one of the characters was so incredibly annoying that she almost ruined the book for me.

39.  The Museum of Intangible Things

museum of intangible

I liked this.  It was a little weird.  Think “The Peculiar Sadness of Lemon Cake”, lite.  If you hated that book, I don’t think this book is for you.  But this was definitely some of the better YAF I have read in awhile and one of the better books I read this month.

40.  Young God

young god

Well this isn’t light reading, let’s put it that way.  If you liked Salvage the Bones or Winter’s Bone, it reminded me a little of that, although those were better.  I’d say this was uneven.  I am glad I read it, and I made Erik read it, which means I thought it was interesting and I wanted to talk about it with someone, but we both had some issues with it.  And it’s not for the easily upset – the main character is 13 years old and is doing a great deal of things 13 year olds should not be doing.

41.  Since You’ve Been Gone

since you've been gone

So these two girls are best friends and one of them leaves with no explanation except a letter telling the other one to do a list of stuff.  Which is all well and good except that the girl is who left behind is such an incredible dud that this boring list of boring dud type activities throws her into a complete tizzy. I mean, who wouldn’t have their world ROCKED by picking an apple IN AN APPLE ORCHARD?! I know, crazy pants.  The second problem is that the reason that the other girl left is a GIANT SUPER DUPER EXCITING MYSTERY and then turns out to be an extremely stupid reason for anyone to disappear and to never talk to their best friend again.  Not a fan of this dreck.

42.  We Were Liars

we were liars

This was no Frankie Landau-Banks, I’ll tell you that.  I mean, it was fine, but FLB was a MASTERPIECE, and this is two hundred pages of overwrought foreshadowing and super obvious melodrama.

43.  What I Thought Was True

what I thought was true

I read her first book (My Life Next Door) and was underwhelmed.  It was fine, very Sarah Dessen Lite.  But I REALLY liked this book.  Really really a lot.  Like, I’d read it again.  There was a slightly stupid plot point that you have to be able to ignore, but otherwise it really is a great summer YAF romance.  My favorite book of the month.

44.  Boy, Snow, Bird

boy snow bird

Hmmm.  This was interesting, and enjoyably weird in that flowery overwritten sultry style that I always like, but the ending was ROTTEN.  Seriously seriously bizarre and jarring and super creepily written.

45.  City of Heavenly Fire

city of heavenly fire

I mean, I read the first five, I had to read this one, but perhaps it did not need to be 752 pages long.  Everything wrapped up satisfactorily, but I still think there are better books in the series.  It was so drawn out.  Also,

 

SPOILER ALERT:

 

 

 

props to Cassandra Clare for promoting safe sex and all that but seriously? Your character brings a condom to a demon realm? Just have some unsafe sex and leave me with my illusions.  YOU DON’T NEED TO TELL ME ABOUT THE FOIL CRINKLING IN AN ALTERNATE UNIVERSE THAT IS ACTUALLY HELL.

 

 

 

Spoiler Ended.

 

46.  All the Summer Girls

all the summer girls

I wanted to like this but in reality by two thirds of the way through this book all three of these ladies could have drowned in the ocean off the Jersey Shore and I still would have yawned because that’s how boring they were.

 

 

3 Responses

  1. Yes – so much this: “This was no Frankie Landau-Banks, I’ll tell you that. I mean, it was fine, but FLB was a MASTERPIECE, and this is two hundred pages of overwrought foreshadowing and super obvious melodrama.” – a thousand times agree, I was expecting much more from the buzz I’d read before getting this

  2. Oh bummer about We Were Liars, I love E. Lockhart a lot and am just waiting my turn in the library queue.
    I wish I could put reviews like this up in my YA section. And the final line in your City of Heavenly Fire review made me totally crack up as a patron entered – and I couldn’t explain it.

  3. whoa look at you, liking so many books this month! I just added a solid SEVERAL of these to my reading list.

Comments are closed.

